Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
We have this as a favorite in our house, we substitute regular cola for the water. Diet cola does not work out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
This is now my "go to" crock pot roast recipe. After reading reviews I made a few additions/revisions. I added 1/2 of onion soup mix and 1/2 envelope brown gravy mix. Also added 1 teaspoon or so Worcestershire sauce. I made this for the first time for for a friend recovering from chemo and radiation. They loved it and next time made it for my family. My husband said. " you can make this anytime" . The few leftovers made great hot roast beef sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Walkersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This is a classic pot roast recipe. The thing that makes this stand out is the gravy which is outstanding. The addition of the mushroom soup really makes this a family favorite. The cooking time really depends on the cut of meat so pick carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
Loved it! It is a meal that I fix on the weekends and turn on the slow cooker as I'm walking out the door Sunday morning to attend my worship service. When I get back home, the house is smelling so good. All I have to do is get some mashed potatoes to go with this or some other veggie and dinner is done! Great leftovers, too, especially to take to work. I love the delicious flavor of the gravy! A winner!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Made this last night for the first time so I can have something to eat for lunch. It's super easy and almost impossible to mess up. I didn't really follow the amounts in recipe because I only had one pound of chuck roast in the freezer. I also only own a mini crockpot (1.5 quart). I dumped one can of mushroom soup and maybe half a can of water. I didn't have any onion soup mix so I googled onion soup mix to find out it's basically onion flakes, onion powder, beef bouillon, and salt. So to my mini crockpot I randomly added some onion flakes and onion salt (which were all I had in the pantry). Set it on low and off to bed I went. This morning I woke up to gravy-heaven. I ate mine with some homemade bread. I will definitely make this again. If you are a gravy person, you have to try this. Also, to make this dish healthier, I would also recommend blanching the meat first. This is a trick that my mom taught me to get rid of some of the fat and impurities of the meat. All you have to do is boil it for 5 to 10 minutes (you will see a layer of scum forming on the surface) and then wash the meat with cold water until the runoff is clear. This gives the recipe a cleaner taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Awesome is right! I used a venison roast, 1 can of cream of mushroom, 1/2 can water, and the package of onion soup mix. Put in in the crockpot on high for 3 hours and it was the most tender roast I've ever had. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
That's the exact recipe I used for years and it is delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I have been making this for over 15 years. Instead of water I use a dry red wine and pepper to taste. I also agree that it is very important to sear the meat before putting it in the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Seared the roast. Put in crock pot as directed--only change I made was added carrots, onion & celery the last few hours. It does make a lot of gravy (delicious gravy). So instead of adding potato's , I served over white rice. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I tried this recipe. It was really good. The meat came out very tender and the gravy was amazing. The only thing I did differently was season the meat before I covered it in the sauce. Simply Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 6,285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States