Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
First time making this. Excellent. We used bottom round roast, and followed some of the tips of the other reviewers. We browned the roasts on all sides, placed them in the slow cooker. In the leftover canola oil, I sauteed 3 shallots, then quickly added the water, a bouillon cube, soup, and soup seasoning packet, as well as salt, pepper, and parsley. Once it cooked all together, in 5 short minutes, poured it over the roasts and set the slow cooker. 10 hours later, we had fall apart beef roast over rice. It was excellent. The only thing I will change next time is that one lady was right; you only really need 1 can of soup. It makes more than enough gravy otherwise. Thanks for a great recipe. This will come in excellently in the wintertime months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Worthington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
My family loves this every time I make it. Sometimes I change it up a little instead of 2 cans of cream of mushroom I use 1 can cream of mushroom and 1 can cream of mushroom with garlic. It gives it an added kick. 2 tablespoons of beef bullion granuals, 2 tablespoons of Worcester sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
I made this dish countless times & it never disappoints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Good Recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This is one of my "go-to" recipes. We have a weekly dinner that we take to the bowling alley on Sundays and share with the staff. This is a favorite because it is hearty and filling. We always add chopped onions at the beginning and some chopped garlic for extra pop. This is fantastic served with mashed potatoes and carrots or any vegetable side. I have not met a person who doesn't enjoy this dish when we've made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wamego, Kansas, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Made this for the first time. Super easy, and really tasty! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
I've always told my boyfriend that I'm not a good cook which is sort of true. I decided to surprise him with this since it looked simple and it completely blew our minds away. I took some suggestions from the reviewers. I only had a 2 lb. pot roast which I quickly floured, seasoned, and browned on a skillet before putting it in the crock pot. I added some beef stock to the pot and played around with the time since it was a smaller roast. About 2 hours before I thought it would be done I tossed in some small potatoes and baby carrots. A whole meal in one pot. I took the juice left over and heated it on a small saucepan with a little bit of cornstarch to thicken it to gravy. I cannot express how easy and delicious it turned out even for someone who cant make rice. :/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Awesome pot roast, so easy to make. The gravy that it makes is delicious as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
7/1/2014 Delicious! Makes a great gravy that would be good over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
I made this recipe as a last minute dinner for unexpected guests. I salt & peppered the roast and browned it before putting it in the slow cooker. I also added several shots of Worcestershire to the soups and I used a can of beef broth in place of the water. I set the cooker to high and left it until 4 1/2 hours later. I then added carrots and sliced mushrooms to continue the cooking. The roast cooked for another 1 1/2 hours and still wasn't done. The flavors of the gravy were terrific and went well with the mashed potatoes and beans. But I ended up having to put the roast into a pressure cooker to try to get it to an edible place. I will definitely make this again but will do so when I have a full day to cook this on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States