Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
This pot roast was amazingly tender! After reading the other reviews, I sprinkled pepper, a little salt, and a little garlic powder and rubbed on some flour on the meat, then I quickly braised it with some olive oil using a non-stick pan. I added the two cans of cream of mushroom soup and one packet of onion soup mix as recommended in the original recipe, but I also added a teaspoon of Worcestershire sauce, substituted 1 1/4 cups of water with low sodium beef broth, added 2 cans of mushrooms, some carrots, and some new red potatoes. I cooked it on high for 4 hours, then I set the crockpot on low, added the carrots and potatoes and cooked for another 2 hours-my husband loved it and even I liked it, and I am not a big meat lover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I work all day an hour from home, so I put this in the slow cooker before I left for work (5 A.M.) and served it at 6 P.M. with candied carrots. It was absolutely amazing, and the whole family said so. I wish I made a bigger roast, as there wasn't a scrap left. I followed the recipe exactly and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eli Silverman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
EASY EASY EASY!! And my kids devoured it and wanted it in their lunch the next day! It was the first thing they ate at school for 2 days. For kids that don't like it spicy, I love that it's already cooked, and you can add BBQ sauce and mix it up with the already pulled pork and have them taste if they want more. I love that it's a pork tenderloin, and very little fat. My husband said he'd never thought of using a tenderloin for pulled pork, and he's the BBQer-extraordinaire! He wants to do ribs with this recipe.. but in the slow cooker! Ha! I will beat him to it. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This is just like it's name AWESOME. It tastes so good and is so easy to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Bourgoine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Family loved this recipe. My husband said this was one of the best pot roasts he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haysi, Virginia, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I know it really bothers some people when someone rates a recipe that they have changed, but to me, if I want to see what a recipe is rated, I just look at the overall star rating. I look at the individual reviews to find out what other people did to make a recipe even better. Having said that... I took some advice from a few people who posted very good advice: I used one can of cream of mushroom and one can of cream of chicken, beef broth instead of water, a little wine, some celery, potatoes, carrots, celtic sea salt, black pepper. Cooked on high for a couple of hours then down to low for the rest of the day. This was by far the best pot roast I've ever tasted, and my husband raved about it. Can't wait to make this again during these chilly days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I have to say I was a little skeptical about this recipe but decided to try it anyway because of so many good ratings. I first seared it with Grill Mates steak seasoning then followed the recipe as directed. OMG!!! This was sooooo yummy! Came out extremely tender, juicy and tasty. I added small white potatoes, carrots and celery as well. My kids loved it. Even my 1 1/2 yr old loved it! Will definitely keep this recipe! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This is a wonderful recipe. I did sear the roast prior to putting in the crock pot. After searing, I cut the roast in to smaller serving pieces. The meat was extremely tender. I also added onions, potatoes and carrots. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Great and tasty recipe. I tweaked it a bit though. I didn't used condensed cream of mushroom soup. It has too many unnecessary and unhealthy ingredients in my opinion. I bought presliced baby bella mushrooms and organic beef broth. Caramelize chopped sweet onion in olive oil, then add mushrooms, let mushrooms brown. In a small bowl mix together 2 tablespoons of flour and beef broth to the consistency of a runny batter. Pour some beef broth to the skillet with onions and mushrooms and add the flour mixture. Let it heat up and pour it over the meat in a crock pot. Add more broth to cover meat. Done. I added a bit more flour at the end of cooking to thicken the gravy. It turned out delicious and without unnecessary ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
My children want to know when we are doing it again. They LOVED it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 6,316) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Apple Cider Pot Roast

A melt-in-the-mouth pot roast marinated in apple cider and spices.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States