Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Third year making it and it is a hit every time. Have had people admit that they take dressing more as an obligation at the Thanksgiving table, but come back for seconds and third after trying this stuff. Love the cranberries and apples in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Used fresh cranberries and extra apple! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Ma Belle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandwich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Great recipe made as is, or good for tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I don't like stuffing, my spouse does; however. This was excellent. I used the sage sausage as suggested. I forgot about the turkey liver, still was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I made this recipe for thanksgiving. I wondered about whether or not I should make the stuffing the night before. I ended up doing just that. However, I saw a review of someone who said to make the stuffing the night before but to save some butter and a LOT of turkey stock the for the next day. I did that, and it turned out fabulous! (Note: I did not stuff our turkey with our stuffing). I was worried though that it would turn out dry, due to all the bread, but about two hours before serving, I added the stock and butter and stirred it occasionally,(in the oven) covered with foil and (like I said ) it was great! We barely had any leftovers!! A must have for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
omg I definatly will be making this again for christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Everyone LOVED this stuffing. I used sourdough bread and turkey sausage. It is almost a meal in itself, but that didn't stop us! I have never gotten compliments on stuffing before because I made it more for tradition and not because I liked it and it was usually out of a box. This totally worth the extra work...you will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
The flavor of this recipe is amazing. I followed the recipe, using recommendations from the reviewers. I will be making this again, but next time, I may do a few things different. My biggest issue with it was the consistency...there is so much going on, such as meat, cranberries, bread,etc, that it just kind of crumbled into a not so "stuffing-like" mixture of stuff. I don't want to remove any of the flavors, but next time, I may increase the bread in order to see if I can make it into a more traditional consistency. Secondly, the liver got lost in all of the flavors, so I don't think it is necessary. I will leave it out next time. As reviewers suggested, I tried sourdough bread, which was awesome; I bought the sage sausage, so I decreased the real sage by 1/2tsp, and I added pecans to the mix. Since I didn't have a turkey to stuff, I poured 2 and 3/4cups of turkey stock over the mixture and cooked for 40 min covered at 350 and then an additional 20 min uncovered. I got rave compliments. This is my new go-to recipe for stuffing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Enjoyed very much, except I really didn't follow the recipe other than as a guideline for ingredients. I used roasted garlic (loaf) bread (from Costco) and mini baguettes which I cubed and toasted. Also used spicy Italian sausage, and nixed the liver/giblets. Included apples, cranberries, and some golden raisins because I didn't have enough cranberries. Cooked sausage first, then onions. Added celery to the onions with seasonings (used fresh as many other reviews suggested). After cooking for a while, I added the cranberries, raisins, and sausage back to the onion/celery mix and continued cooking, also added some chicken stock while cooking; added peeled, chopped apples later as I didn't want them to get too soft. When cooked to my liking, I mixed everything in with the bread cubes, adding in more chicken stock...really I just eyeballed it. I made way more than twice what the recipe calls for and I'm not much for measuring so I just went by taste, looks, and consistency. The dried fruit plumped a little with the moisture of the stock; like this a lot. Oh, also, this was made separate from the turkey so was not stuffed in it, but baked on its own. Baked at 350 covered with foil for about 30 min, then removed the foil for another 15-ish minutes. The family loved it and I will be making it again next Thanksgiving. Happy cooking, happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Fantastic. I got rave reviews from everyone. I had to make do with what I had though, so I substituted extra fresh parsley for the thyme and used potato bread crusts instead of the other bread types. I'm sure it would have tasted even more fantastic if done correctly though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,969) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States