Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Amazing recipe! You will not be disappointed. I used unseasoned cornbread stuffing cubes instead of white/wheat - highly recommend. As others suggested I used sage pork sausage instead of turkey, and I did not think it was too much meat. I used craisins instead of dried cranberries, left out the liver, and used chicken stock instead of turkey stock. I baked it outside of the turkey so I used 4 cups of chicken stock total. Poured 3 cups initially and when I went to mix it about halfway through I poured another cup. I also added a bit of salt and pepper to taste. Remember to bake covered so it stays moist and uncover for last 15 minutes. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I had made this last year for Thanksgiving but I did not stuff my turkey with it. It was delicious. This year, I stuffed my turkey and OMG it was delicious fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This stuffing was an awesome hit with the family. I doubled the recipe, and was able to stuff an 18-pound turkey, as well as have a bread pan full of extra. Even my picky daughters loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made this recipe for thanksgiving for the first time this week and it was a huge success! I changed the recipe slightly. I only put in a couple teaspoons of minced parsley because I am not a big fan of parsley. I also used fresh herbs so I doubled the amount that the recipe called for. I omitted the turkey liver and I used Jimmy Dean's Sage Sausage because Safeway was out my favorite italian sausage that I would have used in lieu of turkey sausage. First let me say that Sage Sausage is fabulous! It added a ton of flavor to the stuffing. This recipe is especially good because you can make it ahead of time and you will be the only one that will know. (I made it two days ahead of time). I did as a previous reviewer suggested and didn't add the butter or in my case chicken stock until I was ready to bake the stuffing. It was super moist and very flavorful! My husband and daughters don't like sweet and savory but the rest of my family does so I split the stuffing into two casserole dishes just prior to baking. I left one without any fruit and the second dish I added 1 fuji apple, 1 golden delicious apple with a couple generous handfuls of craisins (sweeten dried cranberries) and I was amazed at how much stuffing was consumed. This recipe is super easy to follow and lends itself to being slightly altered to please everyone! I made it for 24 servings because I have a bigger family and there is hardly any left! Super easy and super tasty is a winning combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Great stuffing, will be a staple for my holiday meals for sure! I don't stuff the bird, and put the stuffing in a 13" x 9" casserole with the following mods: pork sausage, double amount fresh herbs, a bag of cornbread pepperidge farms stuffing(14 oz), 2 c. chix stock. Cook for about 40 minutes at 350. I love the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
If you like things sweet, you'll love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This was an amazing success! Everyone loved it. My daughter-in-law from Korea couldn't get enough of this. Asked for the recipe. I used a bag of brown berry stuffing (sage and onion)instead of the bread. Used sage pork sausage. 2 cups of turkey stock. Also, used the extra egg. I mixed everything and then covered with foil - didn't put in the oven for 4 hours. Fabulous. Great to make ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Next time I will not use as much liver. Overall, the stuffing turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Fantastic recipe! I used half and half white and whole wheat french bread, made the apple into an applesauce before mixing it in rather than making chunks, and used fresh herbs rather than dried. Stuffed the bird with it, which made for a more moist dressing than the portion I baked in the oven. We all loved it! It's super easy and wholesome to boot. I highly recommend this, even for the beginning cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I do a bone-in turkey breast. No liver, so I added 1 cup sauteed crimini mushrooms and 1/3 cup walnut pieces. Stuffed the breast cavity of the brined turkey breast and slow roasted in oven. This is fanatastic stuffing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 2,011) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States