Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
My to stuffing recipe to bake outside the bird. Since I prefer my stuffing baked outside the bird and this one is meant to go "inside the bird", I increase broth to 3 to 3-1/2 cups and toss in 2-3 raw eggs to keep it moist & help bind it together. I swapped out the turkey liver for 1 smoked or baked chicken thigh diced up. Bake the stuffing mixture @ 350 degrees in a large baking dish for 30 minutes covered with foil then remove foil & cook for another 15 min. making top crispy & the bottom moist & de-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Cooke-Ostrom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
My husband found this receipe here several years ago and it's the only dish I ask him to make every year at Thanksgiving- regardless of where we are. It has become the dish I look forward to most. Be aware that everyone loves it, we made 2 batches this year. Oh, I don't think we've ever noticed the step to include a cooked turkey liver.... so that is our one change. Yummy without it. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Wasn't sure, as I don't like cranberries, but this was absolutely wonderful!!! I saw that someone made everything except the liquids up the day before, which was great since I wanted to get as much done as I could the day before. Just add stock the next day and throw it in the oven! Got rave reviews from the boyfriend too. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This is the best stuffing ever by far. Family is already requesting a huge batch for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is the second year that I have made this stuffing, it's amazing!!! I omit the liver, and I don't cook it in the turkey, I cook it in a 9x13 casserole dish. I add extra turkey or chicken stock to it when I pop it in the oven, and cover it with foil for the first 1/2 of the cooking time. Stir it when I take the foil off, and then it will get slightly browned and crispy on top when it finishes. I also made mine the day before, take it out that morning at let it get to room temp before I bake it so it wouldn't take forever. I just didn't add the broth and butter until it was time to bake it. My biggest suggestion, is to use pork sausage. The first year I used pork sausage and it was more flavorful and moist. This year I decided to go by the recipe and I used the turkey sausage and it wasn't as good. Still a great recipe, but it's SO much better with the pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PumpkinPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Best stuffing I've ever had says the husband so this was a real winner at the thanksgiving table this year. I added a lil bit more sausage though, Chinese sausage called lup cheong which is sorta on the sweet side. If you have a meat loving sausage hugging family I'd recommend adding more meat to your liking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Feeda DaFamilia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
this was an awesome recipe! my picky toddlers loved it!! for those whom it didn't work, obviously they changed something in the recipe - i wouldn't, it's awesome as it is......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
It was fantastic! I made it almost exactly as written. The only change I made was the kind of sausage I used. It probably could have used a little more seasoning but that could have been because of the sausage I used. Jimmy Dean original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
We made this as a separate dish using a slow-cooker for Thanksgiving. The flavors were great and the variety of fruit was appreciated. It was a nice change, but (to me) it just wasn't "all that" like many other reviews have claimed. Our guests praised it and took home left-overs, so it was definitely worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC Daddio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 2,028) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States