Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was really tasty and everyone enjoyed the recipes. I made a few modifications for time and taste: I used sage turkey sausage (no casing) from Whole Foods. The recipe also calls for turkey liver; they are small and you hardly notice the texture so next time I might use two. I used cornbread and unseasoned white bread crumbs (pre-packaged Petridge Farms for time). I also used chicken stock. It calls for 3/4 cups and I thought this was really dry. Luckily I prepared at least 4 cups, adding to the mix to reach the consistency I prefered. I added fresh ground black pepper and sea salt and almost doubled the sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This is to die for. Search allrecipes for the Awesome Turkey Giblet Stock recipe. Its the perfect stock to use with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Durkee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I have been making this for years now, so it's become a Thanksgiving staple. I use the Jimmy Dean sage sausage. Delicious - always a hit. I don't cook stuffing in the turkey, so I've baked this in a pan (45 mins) and cooked it in a slow cooker (approx. 4-6 hrs). Both ways are good but might require a little extra turkey stock on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Awesome!! And i don't like stuffing but this i loooveee this!!!!!!! i also use the sage sausage Jim Dean and sourdough bread, I omit the turkey liver and use chicken stock!!! EVERYONE loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
A question and not a rating.......everyone says "add more stock" to it for out of the bird......exactly how much is "more stock"?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly except I baked it outside the bird. I would use less sausage and a little more broth. I used sourdough bread to make the crumbs which were just "ok" because of the flavor and they were a little gummy. I think I will try ciabatta bread next time and let it get stale before using. I will also chop the apples bigger than 1/3 inch because they are barely noticeable if smaller. Overall it turned out pretty good, but still not as good as my Mom's!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Everyone loved it and told me to make it from now on whenever we do turkey:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This is incredible and so fresh!!!! I would have this as my last meal on earth..easily the best recipe I have ever tried!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Winnie Palmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
My daughter asked me to make this for her graduation party in June. We made it for Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akaxena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksburg, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
I am not a big fan of stuffing, but ever since I came across this recipe, my opinion has changed. The sausage, seasonings, and fruit add such a great blend of flavors that even the most skeptical person wouldn't be able to resist this stuffing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Modawell-Jakle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Salem, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New Baltimore, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 2,011) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States