Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
YUM YUM YUM I used a mix of seasoned premade crumbs and non-seasoned crumbs i made in the oven and therefore used slightly less in the seasoning department, but the stuffing was packed with flavor. I used delicious Jimmy Dean sage sausage. I added an egg and a cup of broth (very moist; I might use a 1/4 less next time). I used regular cranberries (slightly reduced the amount) and added a splash of craisins. I put foil over the stuffing and cooked for 30 minutes. Stirred. Cooked 15 minutes more. Stirred and took off the foil. Cooked 15 minutes more. So delicious; thanks for making me Chef-like!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
YUM! I love this recipe. The only changes made were to use italian sausage instead of turkey (what we always have) and omitted the liver because my mom threw it away! I loved the combination of flavors and could just sit and eat this all the time. Thanks for the amazing (and easy) recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Good stuffing. I used all FRESH herbs and upped them a bit. Used sourdough bread and my only meat was 1 lb hot Italian sausage. As others have stated, you'll need more stock. I probably used 2 or 2.5 cups. I didn't measure just poured it on until the bread was moist. I stuffed the bird with it and baked the remainder in a casserole dish. Delicious both ways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This is the best homemade stuffing I've had. I used granny smith apples (2), doubled the herbs and butter, as much chicken stock til it was moist, polish sausage, and sourdough bread. I will be making this every year from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Added 1 egg to mixure and used 5 T fresh sage, 2 T fresh basil with the rest of dry ingredients called in recipe. Used 1/4 c of dried orange cranberries, added 1 granny smith apple and 1 can of water chestnuts too keep the added crunch! Stuffed the turkey and was be far the best stuffing ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanciemartin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Coto De Caza, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This will be my third year using this recipe. It is magnificent. I have always loved traditional stuffing but this is the BOMB of Thanksgiving stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this for a Thanksgiving potluck at work. I used an entire [large] loaf of whole wheat bread, because it is what I had. I added extra bread that what is called for, because the meat/bread ratio seems a bit off for stuffing. I used turkey sausage [italian] as suggested. For something a bit more traditional, this could be omitted. I'm not a huge fan of sausage, but I have to say this stuffing is pretty good! If I made this again, I would add cornbread cubes, less meat, and less sage. For those of you who want to make this in a pan instead of stuffed in a turkey: [for the changes I made, using more bread cubes] I added a total of 2.5 cups of chicken stock to the pan once I had all the ingredients in. Baked covered for 30 minutes and about 15-20 minutes uncovered. Keep checking it after you uncover it. I stirred it up 1/2 way through the uncovered cooking process.] Spoon it into a serving dish, and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hayesville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaraChavez
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Just made this yesterday for a pre thanksgiving work dinner and it was delicious!! At first I was a little hesitant but once I tried it it was like an explosion of flavor in my mouth. I used some spicy turkey sausage for an extra kick and some mild. I put it in the oven for 45 minutes covered. I also used some undated and some salted chicken stock to guarantee it would not be salty and added extra to make sure it was not dry. I also reduced the onion a bit, I made this for 30 servings, it took me about 2 1/2 hours from start to finish. I never liked stuffing or dressing before because I tried before the ones with cornbread but this was delish! Definetly recommended and will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I really enjoyed the fruit in this! I did omit the meat and I cut back on the sage A LOT! I'm not to much a sage person. I like the fresh tartness of the cranberries and apples. I did this a few years ago and every one enjoyed it but felt as though the sage was to much, so I changed a little bit and everyone LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I have made this several times. I omit the Sage because we really do not care for it and add a little extra Fresh Cranberries. So Easy to make a absolutely a family Favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,970) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Cranberry, Apple, and Fresh Ginger Chutney

This cranberry chutney has bite and isn’t as sweet as most cranberry sauces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States