Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is the second year that I have made this stuffing, it's amazing!!! I omit the liver, and I don't cook it in the turkey, I cook it in a 9x13 casserole dish. I add extra turkey or chicken stock to it when I pop it in the oven, and cover it with foil for the first 1/2 of the cooking time. Stir it when I take the foil off, and then it will get slightly browned and crispy on top when it finishes. I also made mine the day before, take it out that morning at let it get to room temp before I bake it so it wouldn't take forever. I just didn't add the broth and butter until it was time to bake it. My biggest suggestion, is to use pork sausage. The first year I used pork sausage and it was more flavorful and moist. This year I decided to go by the recipe and I used the turkey sausage and it wasn't as good. Still a great recipe, but it's SO much better with the pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PumpkinPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Best stuffing I've ever had says the husband so this was a real winner at the thanksgiving table this year. I added a lil bit more sausage though, Chinese sausage called lup cheong which is sorta on the sweet side. If you have a meat loving sausage hugging family I'd recommend adding more meat to your liking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita Feeda DaFamilia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
this was an awesome recipe! my picky toddlers loved it!! for those whom it didn't work, obviously they changed something in the recipe - i wouldn't, it's awesome as it is......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
It was fantastic! I made it almost exactly as written. The only change I made was the kind of sausage I used. It probably could have used a little more seasoning but that could have been because of the sausage I used. Jimmy Dean original.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
We made this as a separate dish using a slow-cooker for Thanksgiving. The flavors were great and the variety of fruit was appreciated. It was a nice change, but (to me) it just wasn't "all that" like many other reviews have claimed. Our guests praised it and took home left-overs, so it was definitely worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KC Daddio

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I make this every year (with a few changes) and it is a hit! I use hot and spicy turkey sausage to give it a bit of a kick, I eliminate the turkey liver and celery, and I use good old fashioned chicken stock. I cook it in the over so I fill a 9 x 13, double the stock to 1.5 cups so it doesn't get too dry, cover and cook for 40 mins. If it is a bit too soft I'll continue cooking uncovered for 10 mins or so. This is a family favorite, and I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
My family RAVED over this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I've made this for the last 4 thanksgivings, so I figure it's about time to give it the 5 star rating it deserves. The sausage is always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 2,024) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States