Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Enjoyed very much, except I really didn't follow the recipe other than as a guideline for ingredients. I used roasted garlic (loaf) bread (from Costco) and mini baguettes which I cubed and toasted. Also used spicy Italian sausage, and nixed the liver/giblets. Included apples, cranberries, and some golden raisins because I didn't have enough cranberries. Cooked sausage first, then onions. Added celery to the onions with seasonings (used fresh as many other reviews suggested). After cooking for a while, I added the cranberries, raisins, and sausage back to the onion/celery mix and continued cooking, also added some chicken stock while cooking; added peeled, chopped apples later as I didn't want them to get too soft. When cooked to my liking, I mixed everything in with the bread cubes, adding in more chicken stock...really I just eyeballed it. I made way more than twice what the recipe calls for and I'm not much for measuring so I just went by taste, looks, and consistency. The dried fruit plumped a little with the moisture of the stock; like this a lot. Oh, also, this was made separate from the turkey so was not stuffed in it, but baked on its own. Baked at 350 covered with foil for about 30 min, then removed the foil for another 15-ish minutes. The family loved it and I will be making it again next Thanksgiving. Happy cooking, happy eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Fantastic. I got rave reviews from everyone. I had to make do with what I had though, so I substituted extra fresh parsley for the thyme and used potato bread crusts instead of the other bread types. I'm sure it would have tasted even more fantastic if done correctly though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Kamp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Another first for me! Came out beautifully, and lots of requests for 2nds. This will be a Thanksgiving dinner staple from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Layne
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
My to stuffing recipe to bake outside the bird. Since I prefer my stuffing baked outside the bird and this one is meant to go "inside the bird", I increase broth to 3 to 3-1/2 cups and toss in 2-3 raw eggs to keep it moist & help bind it together. I swapped out the turkey liver for 1 smoked or baked chicken thigh diced up. Bake the stuffing mixture @ 350 degrees in a large baking dish for 30 minutes covered with foil then remove foil & cook for another 15 min. making top crispy & the bottom moist & de-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Cooke-Ostrom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
My husband found this receipe here several years ago and it's the only dish I ask him to make every year at Thanksgiving- regardless of where we are. It has become the dish I look forward to most. Be aware that everyone loves it, we made 2 batches this year. Oh, I don't think we've ever noticed the step to include a cooked turkey liver.... so that is our one change. Yummy without it. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Wasn't sure, as I don't like cranberries, but this was absolutely wonderful!!! I saw that someone made everything except the liquids up the day before, which was great since I wanted to get as much done as I could the day before. Just add stock the next day and throw it in the oven! Got rave reviews from the boyfriend too. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This is the best stuffing ever by far. Family is already requesting a huge batch for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This is the second year that I have made this stuffing, it's amazing!!! I omit the liver, and I don't cook it in the turkey, I cook it in a 9x13 casserole dish. I add extra turkey or chicken stock to it when I pop it in the oven, and cover it with foil for the first 1/2 of the cooking time. Stir it when I take the foil off, and then it will get slightly browned and crispy on top when it finishes. I also made mine the day before, take it out that morning at let it get to room temp before I bake it so it wouldn't take forever. I just didn't add the broth and butter until it was time to bake it. My biggest suggestion, is to use pork sausage. The first year I used pork sausage and it was more flavorful and moist. This year I decided to go by the recipe and I used the turkey sausage and it wasn't as good. Still a great recipe, but it's SO much better with the pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PumpkinPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Best stuffing I've ever had says the husband so this was a real winner at the thanksgiving table this year. I added a lil bit more sausage though, Chinese sausage called lup cheong which is sorta on the sweet side. If you have a meat loving sausage hugging family I'd recommend adding more meat to your liking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bebebubu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
this was an awesome recipe! my picky toddlers loved it!! for those whom it didn't work, obviously they changed something in the recipe - i wouldn't, it's awesome as it is......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 2,011) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States