Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
When I took my first bite, I thought yuk! I was sooooo disappointed then I took another and another and the flavors started to kick in and oh boy was I in heaven. I added a little more cranberries than called for and chopped up a granny smith apple. I used fresh herbs, doubling the amount and utilized a good amount of chicken stock. I stirred the mixture occasionally while cooking and after 40 minutes covered at 350, I removed the covering and cooked for an additional 15 minutes. I used the spiciest turkey sausage I could find and added a little sage turkey sausage. Everyone thought this stuffing was quite tasty and did not notice spiciness. I made another batch of traditional stuffing just in case this didn't turn out well. I used the same sausage and Pepperidge Farms seasoned and cornbread stuffing in a bag. The consensus was the traditional stuffing was much spicier but still quite good. When it came time to take a plate home I hid my sausage/apple/cranberry stuffing and dished out the traditional lol. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This recipe was phenomenal! I used sourdough bread and pork sausage with fresh herbs. I didn't stuff it in the turkey, and it turned out as fantastic as I had hoped! Not too soggy, not too dry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Everyone loved this stuffing. Definitely a do again. Even the younger ones said they loved it. My changes: 1 switched 2 TBL poultry seasoning for the Sage, Rosemary and Thyme 2 switched 1 TBL dry parsley for the fresh parsley 3 instead sourdough bread for white bread 4 cooked it in the slow cooker instead of in the turkey 5 used Granny Smith apples instead of golden delicious. Yummy yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Except use less sage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I've made this as is and it wasn't very good. - I'd give it 2 stars (too much of a bad sausage taste, the liver was just a bad idea to begin with and the apples made it too tart combined with the cranberries) but I thought it had a good thought process behind it. So the next time I made it I used Jimmy Dean sage breakfast sausage, took out the apples and liver, used a little less cranberries, added a small can of drained chopped mushrooms and a bunch of chopped pecans. Maybe I changed it too drastically to actually rate the second version as this version, but the second version I thought was way better - especially with the breakfast sausage. But I've always used recipes more as a guide than as written in stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmarr
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
First time trying this recipe, but I ended up kicking it up a notch by using a mixture of green onion sausage and ground pork sausage. All other ingredients were pretty much kept the same! Some ingredients (like the seasonings: onion celery, garlic) were adjusted for personal tastes)! The dressing turned out AWESOME! I was hesitant, at first, adding the apples, despite all the favorable reviews, but I'm glad I did. It's the flavorful combination of the sausage, cranberries, and the apples that will absolutely drive your tastebuds insane, and your guests coming back for more!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Extremely good stuffing. And so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Wahl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I make this as a side dish. Bake in a 9 X 9 pan. If you want enough to fill a 9 X 13 pan, double the above recipe. When I double it, I do NOT double the sausage or butter, since I find it to be quite meaty/moist without doubling them. I also omit the cranberries entirely just for personal preference. The dressing will survive without the liver as well. I like to make it a day ahead & refrigerate it in a covered baking dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
This was really tasty and everyone enjoyed the recipes. I made a few modifications for time and taste: I used sage turkey sausage (no casing) from Whole Foods. The recipe also calls for turkey liver; they are small and you hardly notice the texture so next time I might use two. I used cornbread and unseasoned white bread crumbs (pre-packaged Petridge Farms for time). I also used chicken stock. It calls for 3/4 cups and I thought this was really dry. Luckily I prepared at least 4 cups, adding to the mix to reach the consistency I prefered. I added fresh ground black pepper and sea salt and almost doubled the sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This is to die for. Search allrecipes for the Awesome Turkey Giblet Stock recipe. Its the perfect stock to use with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christopher Durkee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 2,028) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States