Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 23)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I used sourdough bread instead of wheat and white. I used turkey sausage and pork sausage and Smith apple (that't what I had on hand) and used chicken stock because I could not find the turkey stock. Everything else the same except I do not believe in stuffing the turkey. I put sage a couple of lemons and a orange and poke them with a fork and put them inside the turkey ( if you do this make sure you put some butter, sage, salt and lemon juice between the skin to give it flavor). I cooked my stuffing separate. I think it was very good a little on the bland side. Stuffing is one of my favorites and I like to try other recipes. I think my grandmother's recipe is the best....will try and put it up with picture at some point. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Made this Thanksgiving 2011 and it was the most flavorful we have had since I was a kid. Used a stuffing bag in the cavity of the turkey and cooked the turkey a little longer. Really outstanding! Thanks Stacy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
added my own touches
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Everybody loved this stuffing. Hubby complained it's time consuming to make, but agreed it's worth doing. This will be our turkey stuffing from now on. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oakdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I substituted fresh herbs for dried (which means tripling the amount called for), but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taliesin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
My serving size was for 60. I doubled the broth since it is for casserole dish I used 5 eggs. End result was what you would actually use inside a turkey. It needed about 3-4 more eggs, another 1-2 cups broth. Someone asked when to add the whisked eggs. At the stage that ALL ingredients are being combined. I used fresh herbs only on the parsley. I felt that the combination of spices was just mild enough to be there, but not to overwhelm it. Which is how most foods should be. You don't want the herbs to drown out the taste of a dish or to interfere with the natural flavors of the other ingredients. I used 1 pound of chicken liver. Sauteed in garlic, kosher salt, pepper and some paprika. I then put it through a food processor with a little water added . I can tell you that the taste of the meat without the liver and with the liver is completely different. If you almost food processor the liver, you will not get any pieces because it will blend into the juices of he other meat. It certainly makes this recipe much better with it. The meat I used 4 pounds of turkey sausage, 1 pound jimmy dean sage, and 1 pound jimmy dean original. I have a huge huge Magnalite roaster so I was able to take my electric hand mixer and basically break up the meat really (not pulverize) well once it was all cooked. I also let the meat sit overnight in the fridge to let the flavors soak in. Everyone loved it and no leftovers. I will be making this again. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Fantastic, better from the inside the bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mickey Mouth Hess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Too meaty and odd tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I did not like this at all. I love regular Stuffing and was sorry I didn't make some for backup for Thanksgiving, because stuffing is my favorite dish and I threw this stuff out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
I used cherries instead of cranberries...very tasty! Used bag (about 9 cu) bread cubes and 3 cans chicken broth, extra rosemary and sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 221-230 (of 1,972) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States