Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This will be my third year using this recipe. It is magnificent. I have always loved traditional stuffing but this is the BOMB of Thanksgiving stuffing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I made this for a Thanksgiving potluck at work. I used an entire [large] loaf of whole wheat bread, because it is what I had. I added extra bread that what is called for, because the meat/bread ratio seems a bit off for stuffing. I used turkey sausage [italian] as suggested. For something a bit more traditional, this could be omitted. I'm not a huge fan of sausage, but I have to say this stuffing is pretty good! If I made this again, I would add cornbread cubes, less meat, and less sage. For those of you who want to make this in a pan instead of stuffed in a turkey: [for the changes I made, using more bread cubes] I added a total of 2.5 cups of chicken stock to the pan once I had all the ingredients in. Baked covered for 30 minutes and about 15-20 minutes uncovered. Keep checking it after you uncover it. I stirred it up 1/2 way through the uncovered cooking process.] Spoon it into a serving dish, and voila!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hayesville, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaraChavez
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Just made this yesterday for a pre thanksgiving work dinner and it was delicious!! At first I was a little hesitant but once I tried it it was like an explosion of flavor in my mouth. I used some spicy turkey sausage for an extra kick and some mild. I put it in the oven for 45 minutes covered. I also used some undated and some salted chicken stock to guarantee it would not be salty and added extra to make sure it was not dry. I also reduced the onion a bit, I made this for 30 servings, it took me about 2 1/2 hours from start to finish. I never liked stuffing or dressing before because I tried before the ones with cornbread but this was delish! Definetly recommended and will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I really enjoyed the fruit in this! I did omit the meat and I cut back on the sage A LOT! I'm not to much a sage person. I like the fresh tartness of the cranberries and apples. I did this a few years ago and every one enjoyed it but felt as though the sage was to much, so I changed a little bit and everyone LOVED it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I have made this several times. I omit the Sage because we really do not care for it and add a little extra Fresh Cranberries. So Easy to make a absolutely a family Favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I make this every year. It's the best part of thanksgiving dinner. I don't change it much because it's awesome just the way it's written. I use chicken stock instead of turkey and omit the sage (it's not our thing) and I add a few fresh cranberries too. So worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey Kopp Donner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
A vivid, beautiful stuffing! I did however, improvise. I made a recipe and a half but used 1lb. of sausage, all fresh herbs and more stock and butter than the recipe called for to ensure that it would come out moist. I also highly recommend using sage sausage to keep the flavors consistent. I also had to improvise the baking because I didn't use it in the turkey. I baked it covered, at 350 for 20 minutes then took the cover off for 5. I will surely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This is soooooo good, even cold, which sounds gross, but it wasn't! My boys loved it and they are very picky! I didnt use the parsley, liver (wwww) or turckey stock (I used chicken stock instead) I couldnt find the cranberries, they were out so I got dried cherries, which were yummy!!! This will be a staple to our Thanksgiving dinner.... :) Thank you!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
My family wasn't wild about stuffing until I found this recipe 9 years ago. Now everyone requests it including my kids spouses! I made a few modifications over the years. I use maple sausage and store bought unseasoned cornbread stuffing. I also add pecans pieces (or bits - whichever is handy) for a little bit of a different texture. My family doesn't like the liver in it so I do leave that out. I use plenty of liquid to keep it moist. I also always make extra since somebody wants to take some home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I have made this for the past 5 years and everyone LOVES this recipe! I am definitely making this again this year since everyone in my family is demanding it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 2,026) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States