Awesome Sausage, Apple and Cranberry Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
I have found my new Thanksgiving stuffing. This has everything, sausage, cranberries, and toasted walnuts. Who could ask for anything more?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Was intrigued by the high ratings and decided to give it a shot. I was invited to a Thanksgiving dinner and asked to bring dressing as the person who usually made it was not able to come. I was also told it was very popular...no pressure. Not only was this unanimously voted the best dish at the dinner and by far superior to the usual dressing but most said it was the best dressing they ever had. Score! I doubled the recipe and I'm glad I did. 11 people just about finished off the double. I used a mixture of fresh sourdough and wheat breads in the recommended proportions(which I cubed the night before to let them dry a little longer)and after toasting added 2 cups of packaged cornbread stuffing mix. Then to compensate I pulled out two cups of the mix to make a side veggie portion just in case. I used the JD sage pork sausage and Craisns. I omitted the liver and used about double the stock as it was baked in a 9 x 13 pan separately. I also used salted butter and about 6 TBS. I baked the double recipe in one covered 9 x 13 pan for about 50 minutes and then removed the top and baked it for another 10 minutes. It was then heated just prior to dinner uncovered for another 10 minutes. Perfection! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcorsair2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Very tasty! Great blend of herbs; I added fresh ground pepper too. Used all whole wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Followed the recipe and added suggestions like cracking an egg and doubled the broth; was also liberal with the seasoning. I used chicken apple sausage instead of turkey sausage and overall it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Amazing recipe! You will not be disappointed. I used unseasoned cornbread stuffing cubes instead of white/wheat - highly recommend. As others suggested I used sage pork sausage instead of turkey, and I did not think it was too much meat. I used craisins instead of dried cranberries, left out the liver, and used chicken stock instead of turkey stock. I baked it outside of the turkey so I used 4 cups of chicken stock total. Poured 3 cups initially and when I went to mix it about halfway through I poured another cup. I also added a bit of salt and pepper to taste. Remember to bake covered so it stays moist and uncover for last 15 minutes. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I had made this last year for Thanksgiving but I did not stuff my turkey with it. It was delicious. This year, I stuffed my turkey and OMG it was delicious fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This stuffing was an awesome hit with the family. I doubled the recipe, and was able to stuff an 18-pound turkey, as well as have a bread pan full of extra. Even my picky daughters loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
I made this recipe for thanksgiving for the first time this week and it was a huge success! I changed the recipe slightly. I only put in a couple teaspoons of minced parsley because I am not a big fan of parsley. I also used fresh herbs so I doubled the amount that the recipe called for. I omitted the turkey liver and I used Jimmy Dean's Sage Sausage because Safeway was out my favorite italian sausage that I would have used in lieu of turkey sausage. First let me say that Sage Sausage is fabulous! It added a ton of flavor to the stuffing. This recipe is especially good because you can make it ahead of time and you will be the only one that will know. (I made it two days ahead of time). I did as a previous reviewer suggested and didn't add the butter or in my case chicken stock until I was ready to bake the stuffing. It was super moist and very flavorful! My husband and daughters don't like sweet and savory but the rest of my family does so I split the stuffing into two casserole dishes just prior to baking. I left one without any fruit and the second dish I added 1 fuji apple, 1 golden delicious apple with a couple generous handfuls of craisins (sweeten dried cranberries) and I was amazed at how much stuffing was consumed. This recipe is super easy to follow and lends itself to being slightly altered to please everyone! I made it for 24 servings because I have a bigger family and there is hardly any left! Super easy and super tasty is a winning combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Livermore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Great stuffing, will be a staple for my holiday meals for sure! I don't stuff the bird, and put the stuffing in a 13" x 9" casserole with the following mods: pork sausage, double amount fresh herbs, a bag of cornbread pepperidge farms stuffing(14 oz), 2 c. chix stock. Cook for about 40 minutes at 350. I love the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
If you like things sweet, you'll love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,974) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sausage, Apple, and Cranberry Stuffing

This stuffing blends sausage, turkey liver, fruits, and veggies.

Cranberry, Sausage, and Apple Stuffing

Sausage stuffing gets the sweet-tart treatment with green apples and cranberries.

Sausage and Oyster Stuffing

Traditional bread stuffing gets a kick from Creole seasonings, sausage, and oyste

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States