Awesome Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is very good, seared first but not sure that was necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I make this all the time. I have taken the advice of other reviewers and mix in a packet of dry onion soup mix with the cream of mushroom before pouring over the beef. Sometimes I don't even add the beef broth (like if I am out). It's always good and easy to modify. If I cook with vegetables, I put the potatoes and carrots on the bottom so that the flavor from the beef drips down over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
I've made this recipe twice now. The first time used a rump roast, which turned out a little dry, and added veggies and 1/2 cup red wine. Good flavour but too much like my "usual" pot roast recipe. Second attempt gave such a great roast hubby and I both loved it, and can't wait to make again! This was so tender and delicious that we both wished I had used a larger roast. Here is what I did: Used 2 1/2 lb boneless inside blade roast, 1 can low-sodium Cream of Mushroom Soup, 1 can Golden Mushroom Soup, 1 cup low-sodium Beef Broth, 2 tsp garlic powder, 1 tbsp onion soup mix, 1/2 Lb sliced mushrooms. Mixed soups, broth, garlic powder and onion soup mix in crockpot, whisking until smooth. Added roast, spooning some of liquid over roast. Cooked on low for 9 1/2 hours, turning roast and adding mushrooms halfway through cooking time. Based on my 2nd attempt, I would give this 5 stars, and will definitely make again and again, using a 3-4 lb boneless blade roast. Wonderful! Great base recipe. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pickering, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Could not be easier! Seriously, this was the best roast I ever had. I added a little bit of corn starch to thicken the gravy while in the crockpot......other than that it's a winner. Serve with rustic mashed potatoes and biscuits and you will have the most amazing comfort food meal of the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conestoga, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pequea, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Makes a great gravy! Easy, easy, recipe. Although I did add more water than what was required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I don't know if I did something wrong or what but followed directions exactly, added carrots, potatoes and two cloves of garlic and this was really bland. Very tender and with heaps of salt and pepper was passable but still really bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Roast turned out rather dry. Not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
The roast absolutely fell apart and was SO tender! I did add a little bit of garlic, a bay leaf, a can of mushrooms and mixed a package of Lipton onion soup with a cup of cooking wine. I also transferred the "gravy" to a skillet, adding some flour and beef bouillon. It made a wonderful gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
So easy and great to mix with leftover rice or pasta for a great casserole type meal later in the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States