Awesome Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2015
My husband and I really enjoyed this with a few minor additions. I added potatoes to the bottom of the crock pot, then seasoned the meat with a garlic steak seasoning blend and set it on top. I mixed the mushroom soup and beef broth then poured them over the meat and potatoes. I also added some freshly ground pepper when the roast was finished cooking. It makes a nice gravy with plenty for the meat and potatoes and to dip some crusty bread in too. This will be in regular rotation at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Loved the recipe and did as suggested: 2 can mushroom soup (low sodium), 1cam beef broth, 2 packages dry onion soup mix and here is my addition - 1 package Good Seasons Italian dressing mix- Sounds weird but is excellent. Does not taste "Italian". Just adds another layer of flavour... Oh, and mushrooms and a splash of dry sherry when reducing the liquid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Very overcooked after just 7 hours and very lacking in salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
I made this (as written) yesterday and, although it was easy and good, I thought it was bland. I'll definitely make it again but I'll spice it up a bit next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I followed others using onion soup mix along with beef broth and cream of mushroom. I also thickened the gravy at the end with cornstarch slurry. Has to skim quite a bit of fat off first. I will try this again with a cheaper cut of roast as I think the nice rump roast I used was better than needed for this method
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I wouldn't call this awesome taste wise. Real easy to make but tastes ok only.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I follow the recipe which it is idiot proof but the roast came out tough and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louis Panella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
Great recipe. I was surprised that it did not mention to sear the meat before placing it into a slow cooker or the oven though!?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen Breitfeld
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This was pretty awesome. Now I did read comments as I always do. I did coat my hunk of beef with Montreal seasoning and pan seared it. put baby carrots and onions on bottom and threw beef in crock pot. Used 2 cans soup 15 oz beef broth 1 pkg onion soup mixed together 1st and it took 11 hrs but it was super yummy this was a super tough piece of meat and it just melted and tastes good over time threw in some frozen peas and served over egg noodles. . Yum! I know people get upset when we rate a recipe but alter it also. If I do change things I will take a point off. I personally search for recipes by rating and quantity of rates.i do search through comments cause hey trial and error is always good. That being said I'm rating this a 5 anyway alterations were not grand and it's good it should show up with high ratings and good comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Breitfeld

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I used a 4lb rump roast. I cut a slit in the bottom and inserted a small clove of garlic. Then I dumped out 1 packet of onion soup mix on a cutting board and rolled the roast around in the powder (then put in crock pot). In a bowl, I mixed 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, 2 cans of beef broth, and another packet of soup onion mix. Stirred/mixed really well, then I poured it over the roast. I let the roast cook on low for about 6 and 1/2 hours, then I added cut up red potatoes to let them cook for the next 1 and 1/2 hours. Turns out perfect! Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlexyC
Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 539) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States