Awesome Roast Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kathleen Breitfeld
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
This was pretty awesome. Now I did read comments as I always do. I did coat my hunk of beef with Montreal seasoning and pan seared it. put baby carrots and onions on bottom and threw beef in crock pot. Used 2 cans soup 15 oz beef broth 1 pkg onion soup mixed together 1st and it took 11 hrs but it was super yummy this was a super tough piece of meat and it just melted and tastes good over time threw in some frozen peas and served over egg noodles. . Yum! I know people get upset when we rate a recipe but alter it also. If I do change things I will take a point off. I personally search for recipes by rating and quantity of rates.i do search through comments cause hey trial and error is always good. That being said I'm rating this a 5 anyway alterations were not grand and it's good it should show up with high ratings and good comments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Breitfeld

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I used a 4lb rump roast. I cut a slit in the bottom and inserted a small clove of garlic. Then I dumped out 1 packet of onion soup mix on a cutting board and rolled the roast around in the powder (then put in crock pot). In a bowl, I mixed 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup, 2 cans of beef broth, and another packet of soup onion mix. Stirred/mixed really well, then I poured it over the roast. I let the roast cook on low for about 6 and 1/2 hours, then I added cut up red potatoes to let them cook for the next 1 and 1/2 hours. Turns out perfect! Served over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlexyC
Home Town: Lake Charles, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I liked the idea to add dry onion soup mix. Included veggies on the bottom also. I tried cooking for 6 hrs but it really needed the full 8 hr in the crockpot. Using any leftovers in a sandwich makes it a 2 meal effort. After having the sliced roast beef, I added a can of golden mushroom soup plus sliced onions, peppers and more mushrooms to the extra meat in slow cooker. We'll eat it another night served on rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Great taste. Super easy! Definitely will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2014
EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Very good recipe. I will definitely make this Again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I tried this, but used a crock pot instead of a slow cooker -- yes, I''ve discovered the two cooking methods are different. I followed the recipe exactly as written and cooked it on high for 3 hours and low for another hour. A bit dry ( over cooked on high, I think), but very tender. I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Came out very moist and used the leftover soup as au jus sauce for beef sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcook411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bristol, Virginia, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Used 2.5 lb roast, the cream of mushroom, 1 pkg dry onion soup mix and 3 beef bullion mixed into 2c hot water. Poured it over roast in crock pot, cooked 8hrs on low. I made mashed potatoes as I do not like everything to taste the same. Made wonderful gravy with juices- 1/4c butter melted, added 1/4 flour til mixed well, then about 1 1/2c of pan juices and 1c of warmed milk. There are 5 of us and all went back for 2nds. Just happy there is enough left for me to take for lunch tomorrow.. I will never make a pot roast any other way again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
I am new to Crockpot roasts and have tried 3 others in the last month. This was the best and the simplest. My only alteration was to use 2 cans of cream of mushroom soup and a 32 ounce container of beef broth ~because I was using a larger Crockpot. I put the soup and broth in 1st and blended with a mixing stick for a few seconds. I still couldn't get all the needed veggies for the 7 people eating, so 30 minutes before our meal I scooped out several cups of liquid~ added them to a large shallow pan with lid~ added a number of cabbage slices, and cooked for about 15 minutes. Everything was delicious. Note- scooping out the liquid & making dumplings on the side is another I do with some Crockpot recipes. The simple recipe is on every box of Bisquick ~ dumplings take about 20 minutes. I have read a number of the other reviews of this recipe. Most seem to want to substitute onion soup, but I wonder If Cream of Celery Soup wouldn't work great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 531) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

Come home to a delicious slow-cooked pot roast dinner.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States