Awesome Red Wine Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I used beef broth instead of water. I would prefer this with more red wine and less broth. ...next time. I also added cremini mushrooms at the end. Sauteed them in a little butter first. Served over mashed red potatoes with the skin and broccoli. Cooked on low about 8 hrs in a crock pot. Use one! You one be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Good, but I essentially used this recipe as a guide – an average three stars as written. I modified the recipe in several regards, elevating my rating from three to four stars. I added salt and pepper to the flour, seared the (rump) roast in olive oil, used beef broth rather than water, and topped the roast with sprigs of fresh rosemary and thyme instead of the dried herbs. I also made slits in several places on the roast and inserted slivers of fresh garlic. I had other plans for vegetables (besides, I don’t like cooked carrots or pearl onions) so I skipped the potatoes, carrots and onions and chose instead to toss in a handful of dried porcini mushrooms which added a great deal of flavor. The biggest change – I wasn’t sure when we’d eat supper tonight so I used the slow cooker rather than the oven. Very flavorful and tender. Searing the roast first and adding red wine makes all the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
it was alright...i think i'm just a traditional pot roast kinda gal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
The meat did not have as much flavor as I am use to. I'll just have to find out what my grandmother seasons the meat with and add that next time. I also was not a fan of the overpowering red wine taste--could this be because I used cheap red wine? I'll try this again next time with a little less red wine and bolder seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Good, not great in the slow cooker. If I try it again I'll roast in the oven to see if I can achieve the "melt in your mouthness" that others did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by idagal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Made EXACTLY as stated. I made mistake of leaving home while roast was in oven, to come home to burning smell at the 3 hour mark. :-( The bottom of my dutch oven was blackened along with the bottom of the roast. HOWEVER - I salvaged it and cut off all burnt pieces, SCRUBBED my pot and went on with the rest of the recipe. This was DELICIOUS!! I think I'm going to have to make it again - like next week!! I will definitely double the liquid and check on my roast often next time. I threw out my old roast recipe! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Simply delish!! This now my go-to pot roast recipe. I've followed it exactly and i've also made it with slight variations (ie add beets, garlic). Thank you for sharing this with us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
The meat was melt in your mouth tender & the gravey from the juices came out great! I did use on the bone meat, and I used vegtable broth to add some flavor, and less than called for red wine. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeghan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Maine, USA
Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
We liked the subtle red wine flavor of this pot roast and would definitely make it again. I opted for the slow cooker on this one, so I bypassed the flour/browning step and just threw everything in the crockpot for 8 hours on Low. It came out perfectly tender with plenty of juice to make gravy. Unlike my usual self, I didn't add anything to the ingredients. It was very flavorful! Thanks for a great pot roast recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This turned out so well! I used about a cup and a half of wine and omitted the water. I also added a tablespoon or so of tomato paste and a few cloved of minced garlic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LauraBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States