Awesome Red Wine Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
I used small regular onions, quartered, rather than pearl onions and added parsnips. Really good. I used a Dutch oven but can see doing the same recipe in a crock pot/slow cooker. Nice to have an easy and reliable recipe such as this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
I have tried several pot roast recipes recently and was disappointed with all of them. I was even thinking that Trader Joe's had downgraded their pot roasts in recent years. Then, I tried this recipe ... amazing! The only changes I make are adding in mushrooms from time to time and doubling the liquid, replacing chicken or beef stock instead of the water; also, I used olive oil instead of canola for searing. The roast is fork tender and full of so much flavor! It's a dish my whole family loves, even my 3 year old, who is not much of a meat eater normally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Left out pearl onions but changed nothing else. Used a Cab wine. One of the best roasts out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RHETTDIXIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Made this in my cast iron dutch oven - awesome. Got rave reviews!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
The roast was very tender and flavorful! The vegetables were a bit crunchy, however. I would definitely add them a bit sooner next time. Otherwise, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Great dish! This was my first pot roast and it turned out well. I had a 4.25 lb 7-bone roast that wouldn't fit in my cast iron dutch oven so I used a very large but heavy roaster. I had to double the wine and broth but it left lots of room for extra veggies which included whole mushrooms. The wine was an excellent Cabernet Sauvignon. I did cook it at a lower temp, 300 deg, for 3.5 hours, added the veggies and cooked for nearly an hour at 350 deg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
WONDERFUL I made this for Sunday dinner. I followed the recipe except like suggested by others I used beef broth instead of water and because I wanted to cook it while we were at church I lowered the temperature to 325.When I got home I added more beef broth (and a little more wine) when I added the vegetables.It was soooo tender and yummy. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Truly, this recipe is awesome! I made this last night, and my family loved it. The smell while it was in the oven was heavenly. I doubled the wine and water, since we are a gravy-loving family, and I added a bay leaf, and a vegetable bouillon cube. This is in my recipe box to stay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Arbutus, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piqua, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Slow Cooker Red Curry Beef Pot Roast

See how to make a red curry pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States