Awesome Red Pepper Hummus Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
YUM! Really enjoyed this hummus recipe. After 4 stores, I finally found tahini, it's a big jar so I know I will be making this one again. I could not find jarred roasted red peppers, so I roasted my own. I don't care for the hulls that are on the garbanzo beans, so I pulled them off before starting with the recipe. I put everything in the food processor and it blended to the perfect consistency. The next time, I'm going to try adding some cayenne pepper and/or cumin to give it a bit of heat. This recipe is wonderful, thanks for sharing, kymberly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Loved this. I doubled the recipe. Also roasted my own sweet red pepper and added extra garlic. So much better than store bought. So easy. Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stone Ridge, New York, USA
Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vicktoriousspirit
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I just attempted this recipe & yes it's very very simple but unfortunately I accidentally put a little bit too much tahini in it which ended up overpowering the red pepper taste. So I scrambled for what to put into it & so I added more salt, some chili powder, more lemon juice & the juice from the bottle of red peppers. Now I've been advised to add cumin. So now it's more flavorful. Just took me a lot longer than I thought. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
Not much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
This is an excellent recipe! I used a couple of substitutions that I don't think affected the taste significantly one way or the other. I used lemon juice from a jar rather than juice from a fresh lemon, only because I didn't have one on hand. I also used one whole fresh roasted red pepper rather than the bottled red pepper. It was delicious!! My nieces used it to make veggie wraps, and I ate it with carrots and crackers. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATLOVERGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gobles, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I had some jarred roasted red peppers to use up, so I tried this recipe. I did cut back the salt to 1/2 tsp and added about 1/2 tsp cumin (personal preference). My 2.5 y/o toddler usually gags on all hummus whether homemade, restaurant, or store-bought, and he can't stand bell peppers in pasta or pizza, but he gobbled this right up with crackers. I'm sure eventually I can get him to dip veggies in it too. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
amazing recipe! everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Delish! First time making hummus and it's fab. I put extra garlic and added 1 chipotle pepper to it and it is tasty. THANK YOU for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This is a great recipe, however, I did tweek it a little. I added an extra can of garbanzo beans, because the dip was thinner than what I'm used to. To compensate, I added another teaspoon tahini paste, 1/4 teaspoon salt and about 1/4 cup more red peppers. The next time, I will cut the lemon juice in half and use either one large or 2 small cloves of garlic. The texture was nice and thick - perfect for dipping. I, like many others, had trouble finding the tahini paste. Look in the asian food aisle. I found it near thai sauces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
this is way too acidic. Just a teaspoon of lemon juice is plenty. i'd add water or evoo if you need more liquid to get the desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

Greek Salad and Hummus

Two classic Greek recipes come together for an easy appetizer or main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States