Awesome Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
I make this all the time & we LOVE it (especially my father-in-law)! I use tri color rotini, grape tomatoes, pepperonchinis instead of the green peppers, and some chunked red onion. I also use a whole 16 oz. bottle Wishbone "Robust Italian Dressing". I learned that if you "dry" (like pat them with a clean dish or paper towels to get the water off) the noodles, the dressing will really stick a lot better. Pour 1/2 the dressing on right away, refridgerate, and pour the other 1/2 on before serving prevents it from drying out (the noodle will soak up the dressing). Delicious, it goes great with Italian beef. Thanks Desiree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
312 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2003
Trust me this is great! I made some exchanges with the pasta. Use colored pasta wheels and don't over cook. In fact, cook " Al Dente" and drain WELL! Otherwise, the dressing will not adhere to the pasta. Next, I used half of the pasta wheels and had replaced the other half with cheese tortelina(cooked "Al Dente"). You will find this in the refrigerated section in your supermarket. Make sure both pastas are drained well and cooled. I like to cool them in ice water for a few minutes...Refrigerate while you prepare the other ingredients... Then I use some red and yellow bell peppers with the green. Don't add the pimento. Use remianing ingredients listed in the pasta dish. I do sprinkle some Kraft shredded three cheese(parmesan,romano&asigo) cheeses. I had to add more dressing. You can add amount of dressing to you taste. Also, I always use the Robust Itialian Dressing. This has been a winner everytime I had taken it to a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
I served this at a large family gathering, and got rave reviews! I added broccoli, and subsituted most of provolone with mozzarella and cheddar cheese just because of personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2003
For as easy and versatile as this one is, it deserves 5 stars! I made this for a bridal shower and it went over as a huge hit! I did omit the olives and used a little less tomatoes BUT I then added some chopped zucchini. Also, I sprinkled in just a little parmesan cheese and added a little white sugar...believe it or not, the touch of white sugar takes the edge off the Italian dressing without making it sweet. I had people who came up to me at the shower and told me that they don't normally like these types of salads but LOVED the way this was made. They couldn't believe that the secret ingrediant was the dash or two of sugar! A great summer pasta salad! Thanks Desiree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
236 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
I used colored rotini and a package of zesty Italian dressing. Yummy. Thanks Desiree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2003
Great salad. Did leave out the pimentos and added some chopped red onion. Used about twice as much dressing, having poured some the night before and then again before serving. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2003
I am so picky when it comes to pasta salad! This is Awesome!! I followed the advice of MC_MA_OF_3 and dried the pasta on a clean dish towel. I also substituted the green peppers for pepperonchinis. I added red onion and sprinkled with parmesean cheese! Yummy!! My husband absolutely loves it. He ate 2 huge bowls last night and took another huge bowl to work with him today. Thanks so much Desiree for sharing your AWESOME Pasta Salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICBEN
Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
Great recipe! Took it to a potluck supper. Everyone enjoyed it. It has a wonderful combination of flavors and textures. The only thing I did differently was add a little more dressing and substitued grape tomatoes instead of the cherry tomatoes.Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
This recipe was awesome!! Made for a large group of people of all ages. Big Hit!! Got recipe requests and some even took a bit home to eat later. I did use a variation of the recipe however. I uses 1/2 provolone and 1/2 cheddar (1/4 lb. each) to add nice color. I also used green and black olives, and as many reviewers suggested, zucchini. This dish was perfect though, will definitely make again! Thanks Desiree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
Awesome. I loved this salad. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 249) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a pasta salad filled with lots of good stuff.

Antipasto Pasta Salad

This salad combines meat, cheese, veggies, and pasta into a picnic delight.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States