Awesome Italian Hoagie Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I have made this multiple time now and it is always the first thing gone on a buffet table!! I am planning to make it for a camping weekend, we don't do lunch, we snack instead and this will be perfect!! Very hearty, love it as it is submitted, but sometimes I use whatever I have on hand as far as meat and cheese, it never disappoints!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Made this for a party, most people liked it well enough to make it again. As written, I felt the onions were too strong after it sat for a while. I think I will cut down on onions and perhaps use ham in lieu of turkey. Needs a little bit more taste for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADFORGOLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA
Living In: Grand Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I've made this recipe many times. I always follow the directions as written and add about 1/4 lb. pepperoni, cut up like the other deli meats. I always use Boarshead cold cuts. Every time I make it, I get asked for the recipe. I usually serve it with flipside crackers, but i've also used cocktail rye and I think that works best. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Yummmmmy, of course we all adapt and use what we have on hand. I used assorted meats, Italian blend cheese, a touch of Dijon, a plop of sour cream, ok pay attention to this SUN DRIED TOMATOES YUMMMY. I need to put this away or I will eat it before the party. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cary Odell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearney, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
It was excellent. It can be used as a 'hoagie' spread, a cracker spread or on top of a salad. Great change of flavor and pace for an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Powdersville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Great recipe if altered: I use a little mayo, italian dressing, and italian seasonings. I used pepperoni and salami, american and swiss, tomatoes, black olives, diced onions, and banana pepper rings. I served it with sliced italian baguette. A hit everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
A nice change for sandwiches! Easy to make and fun to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
My aunt made this for my babyshower. Instead of the crackers, she sreved it with bruschetta. DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Yeadon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This was a nice change at our tailgate party. This is a unique appetizer that does taste like hoagies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I made this for a party based on all the good reviews and I'm not sure if my deli's quality of meat wasn't up to par or what but I didn't get the "fantastic-ness" of this recipe. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't bad by any means but for me, I'm not sure I'll make it again. I did use low fat mayo so maybe that is what did it? Also I didn't see any benefit of adding the tomatoes. If I make this again I do think what I'll do is spread in between some good italian bread, let it sit for a while to blend flavors and cut serving as finger sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Codez

Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Dip I

This simple dip features all your favorite taco toppings in delicious dip form.

Real Italian Calzones

True calzones stuffed with cheeses, pepperoni, and mushrooms.

Focaccia di Recco (Italian Flatbread)

See how to make an amazing cheese-filled Italian flatbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States