Awesome Honey Pecan Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2002
Delicious! Husband loved them! I took others' advice and doubled the butter and added 1/4 cup maple syrup. I used finely chopped pecans which worked well. (Do not double the pecans, 1/4 cup was ample.) I had lots of flour left over, so next time will reduce flour to 1/3 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
These are awesome! The taste is really good and not too-too sweet - it's just the natural flavor of the honey working. I used pork chops instead of pork loin cutlets because loin is smaller and less plentiful and also, can be more expensive. Chops do the job just as well, you may just have to add more prep time by removing the bone and/or extra fat. If the chops are too thick, you can pound them out or cut them thinner. With my honey mixture, I added a bit of brown sugar and used walnuts instead of pecans. (I would even try some almonds!) Warming the honey makes the dish less heavy - very appetizing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madame.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
This was surprisingly good. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts. Had to add chicken broth to pan as there were no drippings. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I used extra thick boneless pork chops. I seasoned them well with salt, pepper, garlic powder and non-MSG tenderizer before I dredged them in flour. I melted 2 TBLS butter with some olive oil and sauteed a small chopped onion and 2 cloves of chopped garlic. I removed those then well browned the chops. After I got them going I put a lid on them to get a nice brown crust. I then removed the chops to a covered square casserole dish. I put the onions and garlic back in the browning pan, added 1/4C real maple syrup, 1/3C chicken broth (if I had a non-citrus juice, I would have used that) & a splash of soy sauce and scaped up all the chop drippings. When that boiled I poured it over the chops, then sprinkled them with half the chopped pecans. I cooked them covered in the oven @ 350 fo about 30-40 min. I basted the chops with the liquid about half way through. After that initial 30-40 min, I removed the lid, basted again, sprinkled the rest of the pecan on top then cooked for 15 min more. At that point I removed most of the liquid to a small sauce pan and cooked the chops another 15 min. I boiled the liquid until it reduced by half and served it with the chops at the table. My husband loved this dish. I think this would make a great & beautiful "company" dish. I think next time, instead of maple syrup, I may try a fruit syrup. It DID occur to me that this is very similar to the way I cook 'holiday' yams!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
Made as is only doubled the amount of honey and we really enjoyed although next time I think I'll try other reviewer's suggestions such as added some chopped onions, a dash of soy sauce and maybe even trying the half maramlade/half honey mix. We're talking super easy and quick recipe here and yet, it tastes like you claved over the stove. Thanks for sharing this one Karena!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
This is an awesome recipe. I grill my chops instead. Then I melt butter over the the stove and add the honey & pecans and spoon the mixture over my chops. It's so easy. I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
I don't know how to discribe this dish. I think I must have done something wrong. The pork chops were dried out and the sauce was more like candy than sauce. My husband loved them, but I probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
Just like the title describes, this pork tenderloin is awesome. I took previous reviewers' recommendations and added some chopped onion to counter the sweetness and I let the honey cook down a little so I had to spoon the pecan mixture over the meat more than really pouring it. It was delicious and we all loved it. I needed some tenderloin recipes and this is a wonderful addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
Great recipe. My family loved it and it took less than a 1/2 hour to make. That's my kind of dinner. If you don't like real sweet meat then don't pour the sauce over the pork, just use it as a dipping sauce. Either way it's a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
My husband liked this, but said it was too rich overall. Adding the little bit of leftover sauce to the water for Stove-top made the whole meal rich and decadent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 580) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easy Pan-Fried Pork Chops

See how to make a classic pan-fried pork chop dish in three easy steps.

Molasses-Brined Pork Chops

See how to make a quick brine for juicy, juicy pork chops.

Famous Pork Chops

Make these delicious baked pork chops for an impressive dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States