Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
Even better with a slice of tomato and thin slice of onion! Much better baked than in a skillet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
1 slice of cheese is not enough, at least two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holyoke1959
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Not a bad way to make many grilled cheese sandwiches. Use to make them either via a buttered griddle, four at a time, or by the skillet method, fried with a couple pats of butter in the skillet. May I suggest try using regular or Mexican flavored Velveeta, thick sliced equal to two or three slices of American cheese. The oven method is so much easier. Just adjust your time to the desired crispness of the bread. - Gerald, a Mom taught and former Army cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Polo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
In my family, we always called these toasted cheese rather than grilled cheese and we've been having them since the 1950's. I agree that it is so much easier than grilling umpteen sandwiches for a large family. My daughter liked to use mayo instead of butter, which gives one a slightly different flavor and, as mentioned by others, adding other things just gives it all an extra punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Yes, making them in the oven on a baking sheet & rack, especially when you have several to make is a brilliant idea....they don't get soggy as they can in a skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
This is the way my mother always made them when we were kids growing up. They always turned out perfect too, crisp and golden and never burnt. I remember they were extremely warm when she pulled them out and she would warn us to let them cool a bit so we wouldn't burn our mouths with the melted cheese. Of course tomatoe soup would always accompany these sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
My mom has been doing her grilled cheese in the oven since I was a young girl (45+ years). Definately the way to go when preparing more than 2 or 3 sandwiches!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I use coconut oil instead of butter and put the sandwich on a sheet or even a frying pan, but I use the top broiling element (about 3 inches away from sandwich). No soggy bottoms and it gives the toasted bread a really different texture. If I use a frying pan I can just leave the oven door open with the handle sticking out and don't even have to use oven mitts to handle anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
So easy and good. My mom used to make fried bologna this way too when I was a kid. Hadn't thought of that in many years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I have been making my grilled cheese sandwiches this way for 30 years. Picked up the trick from the cafeteria ladies. Its the only way they can cook grilled cheese for hundreds at a time. I love it done this way. The crunchy toast is just what I like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States