Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Use 2 slices of cheese. Cook 6 minutes on 1st side, 3 minutes on the other or it will be burnt. This is the first grilled cheese I've been able to pull off. Its delicious and very easy. Plus, with foil and paper plates, there's no dishes to clean! Others have said to make sure the butter goes to the edges; so, they don't brown too much. I'll try this next time as the edges are a bit crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
never thought to use the oven for grilled cheese sandwiches! thanks for the post!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Love it!! Set oven to 400 degrees, put one buttered slice of bread and the cheese first and cooked for 3 min, added the top and cooked for 3 more minutes and then flipped and cooked for 3 more minutes! Came out perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
Definitely as good as it looks. We don't buy processed cheese slices, so I ran some old cheddar and monterey jack through the shredder blade of my food processor, and used the blended shreds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Markham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Excellent and crispy! Be sure oven is preheated to the right temp. Mine takes almost 20 minutes to get to 450 degrees. Next time I will cook on middle rack and flip over after 3 minutes since the bottom tried to burn too quickly. Also, I think I will butter the outside edges of the bread and add very little in center to keep the "crispiness". Love this way of making a grilled cheese sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Picayune, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kingston, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I too never had a grilled cheese out of a frying pan until High school - there were 7 of us all together so we too made our "grilled" cheese in the oven. We called them though Toasted Cheese .. and they're marvelous. At home now, we do them in the toaster oven - there's just the 3 of us - and we just call them "toasties" now :) We'll occasionally add a slice of tomato, or a bit of ham, scallions... whatever just never more than whatever cheese we're using... I personally prefer monterey pepper jack... with tomato.. and doing them open face under the broiler for just a minute, closing them and then just toasting in the toaster oven... YUMMMMMMY Thanks so much for submitting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
2nd time using this recipe in a month!! Plenty of other things (sides and drinks) able to get done by this is done too. The kids get to choose what cheese and breads so everything is made just for them. I'm even putting one child's milk-free cheese on his this time. Just needed a new recipe for our extra-large family, skillet or griller wasn't working any more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Really great. Always bake for less time in higher elevations! Or is it electric stoves? No one wants burned grilled cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Listerud

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
These are SO easy to make and SO good - the kids and adults both love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Maybe its just me, but I like to try the recipes as submitted- but 1 piece of cheese? More like grilled bread with a little cheese on it! One piece of cheese does not even cover 1 whole slice of bread. Sorry maybe just me- even for my son who is 2 yrs old i use 1 and and half slices of cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See an amazing method for making “grilled” cheese sandwiches.

How to Make Grilled Cheese Sandwiches

See how to make this classic diner sandwich.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States