Awesome Greens and Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This was my first time eating or cooking turnip greens. I listened to other users, and decided to sauté onions and garlic to add to the recipe. I sautéed them on the side in some margarine, along with the stems from the greens. I did not want to throw those away, but know from cooking kale, that the stems take more cooking time. I did not use oil to brown my sausage, as sausage has plenty of fat already in it. When it came time to add the tomatoes and other ingredients, I added my sautéed onion mixture. I also simmered this dish for 30 minutes total, stirring occasionally. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I was searching for a good-sounding and simple recipe to cook some mustard greens from a CSA I joined. This sounded simple and good, and it was. Yum! I used italian turkey sausage & canned diced fire roasted tomatoes with garlic. Great flavor, and so healthy and delicious! Will make again, probably many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
AMAZING!!! Added onions and garlic no oil followed recipe and when it came to a boil put everything in the crockpot on low all day FLAVOR COUNTRY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ash

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
The name totally has it right! Since I was not raised in the south I was lost on how to prepare mustard greens this made first attempt at cooking with mustard greens a complete success! Even my finicky daughter enjoyed them~ AHHH MAZ ING! I used hot italian sausage but kept to the recipe on everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
AKA "Farmer Joe's Dinner" We agreed, this looks like farm food (in all the best ways) It was delicious! I did add about 6 cloves of garlic (I kid you not) and served it over cornmeal mush. We also had red pepper flakes at the table for anyone who wanted them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Made with no changes to recipe. Was very tasty and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
This is fabulous. I didn't use any oil as the sausage I used had enough fat. I also needed to add some collard greens because I didn't have enough mustard greens. This is definitely a recipe I will make often. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Constance Carlson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Enjoyed these very much, even though I made without sausage for a side dish with pork. I did need to cook longer than the approx. 10 min. (20 min). Like witchywoman's review, I added garlic. I can't wait to try with the sausage next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
This is a really great recipe, as a base. I did add a thinly sliced onion and a couple of cloves of minced garlic. Thanks for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pork and Beans and Greens

See how to make an Italian variation on beans and greens.

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Utica Greens and Beans

Tasty beans and greens with escarole, pancetta, and a bread crumb topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States