Awesome Green Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CindyLepp
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Really great recipe! Followed exactly but had to use roll sausage....this is SOOO good! I did skip the olive oil...just used the sausage grease to make it a one pan dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyLepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I've made this several times over the last few years and this year I finally found the sausage that I like best. I used Johnsonville "New Orleans Brand Andouille Recipe Spicy Smoked Sausage", which comes in large links about the size of a large hot dog. I slice them and follow the recipe, using beef broth instead of the water. Everyone really loved the green beans this year and the sausage was very tasty. I'm making them again for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
It was ok. I was looking for something with a little more flavor. Probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
Great recipe. Even though I messed it up a bit (I only had canned green beans), I was happy that my family actually ate veggies and wanted more. In the future, I look forward to making this the way it was supposed to be made. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
What an excellent idea! I used a 1 lb. roll of country sausage. I fried it, adding 1 stalk of finely chopped celery and 1/2 of an onion chopped fine. I drained off the grease, then added 2 cans of green beans. I had some leftover potato patties in the fridge. I chopped them up and threw them in as well and cooked for a few minutes. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This was ok, but not awesome. We created the sauce by mixing in cornstarch with the leftover liquid and that definitely helped. It just wasn't flavorful enough, though, and I'm not great enough at cooking to know what could've really helped and complimented the ingredients correctly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
A great receipe with some modifications. Brown the sausage before the onion and garlic, use broth instead of water, and I used frozen french style green beans. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This was great and so simple. I used the frozen tiny Haricot Verts beans so the cook time was less. I substituted chardonnay for the water. I added it to the cooked onions, garlic and sausage and let it cook down some before adding the beans. Also added some Herbes de Provence. Took this to a wine tasting and it was a hit. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANCY P

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Very simply - won't make this again - I had sausage and green beans that I needed to cook up before they went bad - I chose this based on that - no one cared for this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
Interesting dish - but next time I'd rather chop the beans into oblivion and add them to my spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Doniphan, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

All about Green Beans

Thick or thin, whole or French cut, raw or cooked, green beans are the best side.

Slow-Cooked Green Beans

Slow-cooked green beans with bacon—it's Southern-style comfort food at its best.

Syrian Green Beans with Olive Oil

See how to make a quick-and-easy green bean side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States