Awesome Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I haven't been able to have egg rolls for 6 years due to a gluten (wheat) intolerance. I made these last night as a treat to myself. I used rice papers instead of egg roll wrappers and I baked them instead of frying them. They tasted almost exactly like the real thing. YAY!!! Thanks so much for the awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
As other reviews suggested I added oyster sauce. These were ok..but my family thought they were 'bland' and missing something. I'm must not sure what it is that is missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Boro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Very good. I gave it four stars because we didn't care for the cabbage just shredded. The second time I made it, I shredded, then chopped the cabbage fairly fine and we like it better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
These were my first attempt at eggrolls and they were awesome! I followed the recipe exactly except for substituting firm tofu for the shrimp. I also baked the rolls instead as other reviewers had suggested and used the broiler in the last couple minutes and they turned out super crispy you would never know they weren't fried. I would recomment sealing the edges completely instead of just the corners if you are going to fry because i didn't have a tight seal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
These were really awesome. I used ground turkey instead of the shrimp and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Great eggroll recipe. I made it using a bag of coleslaw mix and also baked the eggrolls instead of deep frying them. This works great with chicken or pork as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by calirolls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This was great- but I cheated a bit. I used a bag of slaw and instead of shrimp browned some ground pork. I baked these in the oven at 400 for 20 minutes and brushed them with an egg wash. They turned out crispy brown and very tasty! I served them with La Choy Sweet and Sour sauce, but next time will make my own sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hs in so cal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
awesome! The wrappers tear VERY easily so next time I think I will double or triple up on those!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Vilseck, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
These were ok. Nice texture. I substituted chicken for shrimp, but very bland. Seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristinlairen
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
We split this recipe into 2 bowls, one with 4 oz. shrimp and the other with a shredded slow-cooked porksteak. Skipped the onion and celery & added more bean sprouts. We didn't care for the shrimp ones at ALL, but the pork ones were heavenly!! Even my son, who claims to dislike chinese food, ate 3!! Thanks for an excellent new recipe for our family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDYLU35

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Belleville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States