Awesome Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
These are way good! I've made it exactly according to the recipe, and it was good, except for the shrimp. We've since substituted chicken or pork and prefer it that way. I followed the advice of another reviewer and used a bag of coleslaw mix, and also used a couple of cans of pre-cooked chicken breast. What a time saver. It takes this recipe from something I would only make on weekends to one that could be done during the week. This last time I made it, I added a little sesame oil to the filling for flavor. This has now become a staple recipe in our house. No more frozen egg rolls from the store. Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Awesome is right!! These were sooooo good. They were gobbled us as quickly as they were assembled and fried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iluvmysix

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wapello, Iowa, USA
Living In: Shenandoah, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
this recipe is similar to my moms recipe. we use coleslaw mix as well to cut on time and nix the shrimp and use 1 tube pork sausage. we toss every thing into a wok stir occasionaly and roll away. we tend to make a HUGE batch and have an egg rolling party with the family. there never seems to be enough so i suggest making a few batches and freezing them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
My BF says they're the best eggrolls he's ever had. (And trust me, he tells me the truth when it comes to dinner...doesn't want to be served something twice if he didn't like it the first time!) Very easy and the result is great! I skipped the sprouts and made "2 servings" and this filled 6 eggroll wrappers. Definitely worth repeating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
These are a holiday tradition at our house. To make the recipe easier, I use a bag of cole slaw that can be found in the refrigerated produce section by the bags of salad. I also add finely chop bamboo shoots and water chestnuts. Don't forget the hot Chinese mustard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
I haven't been able to have egg rolls for 6 years due to a gluten (wheat) intolerance. I made these last night as a treat to myself. I used rice papers instead of egg roll wrappers and I baked them instead of frying them. They tasted almost exactly like the real thing. YAY!!! Thanks so much for the awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
As other reviews suggested I added oyster sauce. These were ok..but my family thought they were 'bland' and missing something. I'm must not sure what it is that is missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington Boro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Very good. I gave it four stars because we didn't care for the cabbage just shredded. The second time I made it, I shredded, then chopped the cabbage fairly fine and we like it better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
These were my first attempt at eggrolls and they were awesome! I followed the recipe exactly except for substituting firm tofu for the shrimp. I also baked the rolls instead as other reviewers had suggested and used the broiler in the last couple minutes and they turned out super crispy you would never know they weren't fried. I would recomment sealing the edges completely instead of just the corners if you are going to fry because i didn't have a tight seal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
These were really awesome. I used ground turkey instead of the shrimp and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States