Awesome Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
These egg rolls are fantastic. I skipped the shrimp and just used the veggies, which yielded 10 good-sized rolls. I fried half of them and baked the other half. I wanted to see which was better after reading some of the other reviews. I suggest sticking to frying them as baking gave them an inauthentic taste. The baked rolls ended up with a strange hard crunchiness to them and the veggies inside turned mushy. The fried ones, on the other hand, were crisp and delicious! Just like I get at local Chinese food restaurants. I served them with some red chili sauce purchased at a nearby Asian market-- so yummy! Thanks ROUVER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Jacquard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
These egg rolls were so yummy. I followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased. I got 18, but I filled some of them very full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_firefly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I followed this recipe but used chopped mushrooms too and omitted the shrimp (personal preference). They were great!! We baked them at 425 for about 13 minutes instead of frying and they were great so I can't even imagine what they would've tasted like if they were fried (DRool!) Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissasMeals

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
These were the most authentic tasting egg rolls I have had in a long time. I made it for my moms b-day and all 20 were gone within minutes, and there was only 5 of us! I used fresh shrimp and chopped it up along with ground pork. I like lots of meat in my egg rolls so it was perfect. Thanks for the best egg roll recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LpnLab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
These were really good! I omitted the shrimp but followed the recipe otherwise they were great. I served to my grands with shrimp fried rice and one of them said he thought he was in a chinese restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Very good flavor I did not change a thing. I messed up and bought wonton wrappers instead of egg roll. I can't wait to make them the right way and eat a big egg roll instead of a mini one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
This was a great start. I used cole slaw mix for my carrots and cabbage. I skipped the celery. I used raw salad shrimp and a pound of ground pork instead of canned shrimp after browning the pork right before it was done I threw in the shrimp to get pink. I also seasoned the meat with soy sauce while it browned. Then I pretty much followed the rest of the recipe. oh I did use more soy sauce to wetten everything, I think I might have sprinkled to much corn starch over it but all turned out great. :) I served them with my shrimp fried rice and some store bought kimchee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reggie Tucker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, California, USA
Living In: Leesville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Excellent! They tasted wonderful. There are some pre-made egg rolls that I always buy at Walmart in the deli department. These were as good as those. I made with chicken instead of the shrimp. I also used extra onion powder for flavor. I left out the bean sprouts. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loves2cook74

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Never made egg rolls before but these were gooood, I cooked the vegetables to make soft and added pork
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Martha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Very good, but could use more vegys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Southwestern Egg Rolls

These delicious bites make an impressive brunch, dinner, or appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States