Awesome Egg Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
I'm amazed at how easy these were to make. I don't like shrimp, so I substituted 4 oz of cooked ground chicken. We fried them and ate them with duck sauce, and they were great. I tried baking some, too-- I don't recommend it as the wrapper just became tough and chewy. I didn't cook all of the egg rolls right away so i put them in the fridge to make the next day, and the wrappers became soggy and gooey. I recommend cooking all the egg rolls at once and then refrigerate and reheat the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Really good, I don't recommend baking them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Watertown, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA
Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
First time making Egg Rolls. I followed recipe except I used fresh garlic not powder. Very, Very good. My family gobbled them down, almost without breathing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
Another recipe that deserves more than the five stars allowed!! This was my first time making egg rolls (even after 30-plus years of cooking, the concept always seemed too intimidating to try), and they turned out to be the most fantastic egg rolls my husband and I have ever had. I did eliminate the bean sprouts...only because I did not have any in the house...and I steamed and chopped fresh shrimp instead of using canned. I also subbed dried red-pepper flakes for the black pepper, and these came out tasting better than my now "OLD-favorite" egg rolls at my favorite Thai restaurant. These proved so much easier to make than I ever could have imagined. I found that I did not need the cornstarch mixture to seal the wrappers; I used the moisture from the bottom of the bowl that the filling had been sitting in. I had absolutely no issues with the wraps coming apart, and didn't need to use any toothpicks. This is a fantastic recipe!! I would urge anyone who loves egg rolls to try this recipe; you will be shocked at how easy they are to make. Thank you so much for posting this recipe Rouver, I will be using it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcraiger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
We loved these egg rolls, and were even able to make them "veggie" by just eliminating the shrimp. Didn't miss it at all, still a great flavor. The extras freeze well, and can be reheated nicely in a toaster oven for a quick lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I baked these as suggested by other reviewers and the veggies were crunchy but they had absolutely no flavor...Not sure what I did wrong but they really weren't very good. 8(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
These egg rolls are fantastic. I skipped the shrimp and just used the veggies, which yielded 10 good-sized rolls. I fried half of them and baked the other half. I wanted to see which was better after reading some of the other reviews. I suggest sticking to frying them as baking gave them an inauthentic taste. The baked rolls ended up with a strange hard crunchiness to them and the veggies inside turned mushy. The fried ones, on the other hand, were crisp and delicious! Just like I get at local Chinese food restaurants. I served them with some red chili sauce purchased at a nearby Asian market-- so yummy! Thanks ROUVER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Jacquard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
These egg rolls were so yummy. I followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased. I got 18, but I filled some of them very full.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_firefly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I followed this recipe but used chopped mushrooms too and omitted the shrimp (personal preference). They were great!! We baked them at 425 for about 13 minutes instead of frying and they were great so I can't even imagine what they would've tasted like if they were fried (DRool!) Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissasMeals

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 91-100 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Chinese Egg Rolls

Discover a 300-year-old family recipe for shredded pork egg rolls.

Best Egg Rolls

See how to make delicious crispy egg rolls with ground pork and cabbage.

Irish Egg Rolls

Terrific fried appetizer with corned beef, cabbage and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States