Awesome Chicken and Yellow Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
We really enjoyed this reciped. It was the 1st time, I cooked with waterchestnuts. I took the advice on the site; used a precooked whole chicken, sauted the veggies with some garlic and added diced tomatoes. Superb! Also after it was baked, mixed in some pickled jalepenos for some added zing. Will definitely make again. Note, think the type of yellow rice you use makes a huge difference. The one we used was Goya Spanish style. It added some great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This is delicious. I made it exactly as the recipe stated. The only thing I will probably change is to use chicken breasts since we prefer white meat. However, using the whole chicken is cheaper on the budget.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erinagain

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Riverview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Very good. We really enjoyed this. I made it pretty much as described however I substituted a yellow pepper for a green and used 2/12 lbs of skinless thighs and breasts instead of a whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Very good! The "fam" really loved it! We also used a roasted chicken bought at Publix to save prep time. We will be eating this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRIEDGREENMATERMOMMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
We love this - we skip the pimentos and the water chestnuts. We add a little extra chicken broth so its nice and moist. Our vege is normally steamed broccoli mixed in after dish is prepared. My kids love this. Apple sauce and cottage cheese are staples at my house and my little ones love this dish with those accompanying sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GrandmaK
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Whatever you do don't leave out the pimentos, it would be pretty bland otherwise. I think I'll try some of the other suggestions, such as adding the vegies later, they lost most of there flavor cooking with the chicken. I didn't find it neccesary to heat everything up in the oven, I just added the chicken and vegies to the rice and made sure it was hot enough that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrandmaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Good recipe, but too much work. I just boil my chicken, cool, skin, & cut up the meat. I skim the broth and proceed with the recipe on the back of "Vigo" yellow rice, adding whatever veggie I want(usually some frozen peas) the last 5 minutes. Vigo brand is out of Tampa, Fl. It is the most authentic yellow rice, already seasoned. For the liquid called for in the recipe, I just use the skimmed broth from the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Very good with a few alterations. I've made it just as the recipe suggests, but it's pretty time consuming, so this time I did some shortcuts. I slow-grilled chicken breast (to keep chicken moist) in a pan, while 2 (10 oz) packages rice were cooking. Removed chicken from pan to cool then added olive oil, 1 med onion, one green pepper, water chesnuts (all rough chopped) to pan to saute till soft. Shredded chicken, then added pimentos and 1 can diced tomatoes to veggies, sauted for a few more mins. Tossed chicken, veggies and rice togther and voila! Yum! Next time will probably add another can of tomatoes since this recipe could be a little more moist. Also will try to add some curry powder and maybe some crushed chili flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna&theboys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Very, Very Good! I added garlic to the veggies and then made a simple gravy that I added when it came out of the oven. By far, the best chicken and yellow rice ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I didn't really stick to the original recipe, but followed other reviewers advice instead and we thought it was quite tasty. I left out the water chestnuts and pimentos and sauteed celery, onion, green pepper and garlic in oil. I bought a roasted chicken from Walmart, shredded the meat and added it to the sauteed veggies along with some seasoned salt, pepper, and curry powder. Then I mixed in a can of Rotel. Mixed all that together with a pkg. of prepared Mathama yellow rice, topped it with cheese and baked it for 20 minutes. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States