Awesome Chicken and Yellow Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Absolutely Wonderful! I did make the recipe a little more user friendly. I bought a costco rotisserie chicken and softened my veggies on the stovetop, while I shredded my chicken, I made 2 packages of the Mahatma brand yellow rice, then mixed everything together and baked for 20 min. It was all gone. I had my nieces over and my hubby and I did not even get seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
Quick and easy..A great recipe! The only thing is, I would have liked a little more "bite" to it. I think next time instead of the pimentos I will add a can of the diced tomatoes with green chili's to it. Also I used boneless and skinless chicken breasts, because that is what I had. Thanx! --------- Just an update...I tried this recipe again this time replacing the pimentos with chopped tomatoes with green chilis and it was EXCELLENT!! Will definately keep in my recipe box and will keep making. It was a hit in my house..when my "men" are happy so am I..(smile)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
This turned out great! I did do some shortcuts and added some curry powder and garlic. I boiled boneless skinless chicken breasts, then shredded into a bowl. I added garlic salt, curry powder, pepper and seasoned salt plus just enough water to moisten chicken enough for the spices to stick. I sauteed the onions and bell pepper with a little garlic salt and curry powder, then put the vegetables, chicken, cooked rice, pimientos and chestnuts to a baking dish and mixed. I topped with a little bit of fresh grated parmesan and baked for the 15 minutes. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I changed a few things based on previous reviews. I boiled chicken tenders with Adobo seasoning then cooked the yellow rice in the broth while I shredded the chicken tenders. I sauteed onion, celery and bell pepper then mixed it all together with a can of drained Rotel. Put it all into a greased 13x9 and topped with shredded mexican blend cheese. I really think the addition of Rotel makes this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Byron, Georgia, USA
Living In: Guilford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
My family and I love this recipe. I made a few changes to cut down on time but the end result was still a great meal. Instead of using a whole chicken I diced boneless chicken breasts and used a green zucchini and a yellow squash instead of using a green pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I honestly did not think this was that amazing. It could have been heated together on the stovetop, no need for the Dutch Oven or the casserole dish. If I could make it over again, I would use only breast meat, but that's just a personal preference. Overall, this was just kind of "there" to me -- not great but not bad either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NERDYCHEESECAKE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I didn't really stick to the original recipe, but followed other reviewers advice instead and we thought it was quite tasty. I left out the water chestnuts and pimentos and sauteed celery, onion, green pepper and garlic in oil. I bought a roasted chicken from Walmart, shredded the meat and added it to the sauteed veggies along with some seasoned salt, pepper, and curry powder. Then I mixed in a can of Rotel. Mixed all that together with a pkg. of prepared Mathama yellow rice, topped it with cheese and baked it for 20 minutes. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
This was very good. I don't have a dutch oven so I boiled the chicken with some left over vegetables I needed to use up. After the chicken cooked I let it cool and used the broth from the chicken to cook the yellow rice in. I put the chicken, rice, onions, and green pepper in a casserole dish and baked 15 minutes. ( My husband is picky and those are the only things he would let me put in). It turned out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2005
We LOVE this recipe. I used diced boneless/skinless chicken. I also added a little apple cider vinegar to the cooking chicken and it gave it a little bite that we liked. I sprinkle cheese over it at the end and my kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
This is the best chicken and yellow rice I have ever fixed!!! Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States