Awesome Chicken and Yellow Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Made this as is...except I forgot the waterchestnuts. Full of flavor and not too much work as some claim. Few ingredients and little time at the stove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tangie Huggins

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This recipe was the only chicken-rice casserole I could find that did not have dairy products. I got ideas from prior reviews and used what I had in the house. My version had boneless chicken breast, white rice, chopped onion, packaged coleslaw mix, green tomato salsa, cumin, turmeric (to add yellow color), and black pepper. While the chicken was cooking in the microwave, I cooked the rice with chicken bouillon. I sauteed the onions, added coleslaw partway through, and then mixed in the salsa and spices. I combined the chicken, rice, and veggies, and microwaved the casserole for about 4 minutes. The slaw added a nice crunch (and got my family to eat some fiber). The recipe will probably be different every time, but it is wonderfully flexible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I was looking for a chicken and rice recipe that would appeal to my husband's South American family. This fit the bill. It tastes just like the arroz con pollo that my mother-in-law makes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Miramar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
5 star with changes. Sautéed green pepper and onion stove top. Added diced tomatoes w green chillies then threw in cubed, store-bought rotisserie chicken seasoned well with garlic and seasoning salt, curry. Tossed together with 1 c Mexican cheese. Topped with 1 cup cheddar. Used as burrito filling with a dollop of sour cream. Friggin AMAZING! Huge hit with dinner guests :-) thx a ton for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Loved it! Family didn't like the water chestnuts, but I'm the one cooking so I don't care! Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
this was delicious! i didn't care too much for the water chestnuts and it didn't add any flavor to it so i will omit that the next time and i also just seasoned the chicken with salt and pepper because i didn't have any seasoned salt, but it came out great! if you have the time, i would strongly recommend buying a small chicken (about 4 lbs) and seasoning it yourself instead of the store made chicken like some reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
Loved this dish! Very flavorful and easy to make. Instead of a whole chicken I used 3 large chicken breasts. I substituted a can of tomatoes w/ green chilis for the pimentos per another member's suggestion. I also added a bit of crushed red pepper to the chicken seasoning, and a bit of cajun seasoning to the cooked rice! Not too spicy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marisa Perry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
This was really good! To keep it simple, I used frozen chopped onions and green peppers. Although I am not a huge fan of water chestnuts, they added a pleasant texture to the meal. I do not own a Dutch oven. Instead, I used a large oval Corning Ware Casserole dish. Like one of the other reviews suggested, I added a sprinkle of curry along with S & P and Mrs. Dash to season the chicken. I will definitely be making this again, my family loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
I honestly have a difficult time making anything taste good. This recipe is a keeper for me. Like everyone else, I adjusted the recipe a bit. Instead of making the chicken I bought a rotisserie chicken. I cooked the vegetables on the stove top. I followed the directions of making yellow rice but instead of using water I used chicken broth. I did not season the chicken with salt and pepper to taste. I only used seasoning salt. My boyfriend loved the dish. I myself felt it was a bit too salty, but I always complain of that. Next time I will make the yellow rice with half water/half chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calabasas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States