Awesome Chicken and Yellow Rice Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
Very good. We really enjoyed this. I made it pretty much as described however I substituted a yellow pepper for a green and used 2/12 lbs of skinless thighs and breasts instead of a whole chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saltado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2009
Very good! The "fam" really loved it! We also used a roasted chicken bought at Publix to save prep time. We will be eating this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRIEDGREENMATERMOMMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
We love this - we skip the pimentos and the water chestnuts. We add a little extra chicken broth so its nice and moist. Our vege is normally steamed broccoli mixed in after dish is prepared. My kids love this. Apple sauce and cottage cheese are staples at my house and my little ones love this dish with those accompanying sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Union, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GrandmaK
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Whatever you do don't leave out the pimentos, it would be pretty bland otherwise. I think I'll try some of the other suggestions, such as adding the vegies later, they lost most of there flavor cooking with the chicken. I didn't find it neccesary to heat everything up in the oven, I just added the chicken and vegies to the rice and made sure it was hot enough that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrandmaK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Good recipe, but too much work. I just boil my chicken, cool, skin, & cut up the meat. I skim the broth and proceed with the recipe on the back of "Vigo" yellow rice, adding whatever veggie I want(usually some frozen peas) the last 5 minutes. Vigo brand is out of Tampa, Fl. It is the most authentic yellow rice, already seasoned. For the liquid called for in the recipe, I just use the skimmed broth from the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Very good with a few alterations. I've made it just as the recipe suggests, but it's pretty time consuming, so this time I did some shortcuts. I slow-grilled chicken breast (to keep chicken moist) in a pan, while 2 (10 oz) packages rice were cooking. Removed chicken from pan to cool then added olive oil, 1 med onion, one green pepper, water chesnuts (all rough chopped) to pan to saute till soft. Shredded chicken, then added pimentos and 1 can diced tomatoes to veggies, sauted for a few more mins. Tossed chicken, veggies and rice togther and voila! Yum! Next time will probably add another can of tomatoes since this recipe could be a little more moist. Also will try to add some curry powder and maybe some crushed chili flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna&theboys

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Very, Very Good! I added garlic to the veggies and then made a simple gravy that I added when it came out of the oven. By far, the best chicken and yellow rice ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valrico, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I didn't really stick to the original recipe, but followed other reviewers advice instead and we thought it was quite tasty. I left out the water chestnuts and pimentos and sauteed celery, onion, green pepper and garlic in oil. I bought a roasted chicken from Walmart, shredded the meat and added it to the sauteed veggies along with some seasoned salt, pepper, and curry powder. Then I mixed in a can of Rotel. Mixed all that together with a pkg. of prepared Mathama yellow rice, topped it with cheese and baked it for 20 minutes. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inman, Kansas, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I made a few modifications as per some of the other reviews. To cut down on the time, I cooked it in one pot on the stovetop. I cooked the chicken and veggies first, adding a chili pepper and tomato, as well as extra spices to suit our taste. We like our food spicy. Once the chicken was cooked through, I added a bit of water to the pot to help cook the rice. (I used basamti). After about 15 minutes the rice was cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States