Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Brenda Vandervort
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I found this recipe years ago, and have been making it ever since! I make this cake every year for Thanksgiving and Christmas, and my family LOVES it. I did change a few things: 1. I beat the eggs seperately, then gradually add the oil....whisking until light in color. Then I add the pinapple, carrots, and nuts, and mix. I mix the flour, sugar, and spices together in a seperate bowl, and gradually add to the wet mixture. I find this makes for a lighter, fluffier cake. 2. For the icing, I use 1 stick unsalted butter, and 1/2 "brick" of cream cheese. Makes for a lighter, creamier icing. Also, because of the pineapple, this cake MUST be kept refrigerated...the moisture from the pineapple will make it go bad quickly if not kept at a cool temperture...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Vandervort

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
My boyfriend had been begging me for weeks to make him a carrot cake w/cream cheese icing from scratch. Mind you, I cook a lot of dinners, but have never been much of a bake from scratch kind of gal. But then I found this recipe and thought it looked easy enough so I decided to give it a shot. Even my bf wasn't excepting it to be perfect the first time, he just wanted me to try, BUT it came out SO freaking good. He was in love, the kids were in love, and I myself was in love with this cake. I know a lot of the other reviewers thought it was TOO oily and moist, but we thought it was just right. Maybe it's just a matter of preference, maybe I just got lucky, but , that was some good cake! I'm making another one to bring to a party tonight, we'll see if it's as big of a hit for my friends as it was for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I have made this several time and everyone loves it, even people who don't like carrot! I do use only 1/2 the amount of oil, stir delicious! I serve it cold for best results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I made this last night and it was the best carrot cake I have ever tasted. I followed the recipe as it was written and tweaked it a little bit, I added raisens. It was a hit on our home and I will keep this one as my favorite. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is the best carrot cake I've ever made. Lots of compliments always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEEYEDBOYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
very good, but add some spices to the frosting to make it even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Perfect recipe!!! I have never had a bad carrot cake with this one - I don't use the nuts for the simple fact that I am unsure if the people I am baking for will enjoy/are allergic to them but I am sure it is delicious!! If you love carrot cake I would highly recommend this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dieppe, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
It was good, but I agree with the too much oil comment, seems excessive!! Icing makes too much, more than needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Turner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Good flavor. I think I will cut back on the oil next time. Made it as a layer cake and the icing was almost too much for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hudson, Iowa, USA
Living In: Floyd, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 890) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States