Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
Why is everyone giving this recipe a five-star rating after they have altered the recipe? IF you make this as directed: a)There is WAY too much oil, b)it has very little flavor, c)it takes a lot longer than 40-45 minutes to bake, d)the icing does not need that much sugar and butter. It sticks in your throat going down; and left my kids fingers slicker than the exxon oil spill. I think if this recipe was dramatically altered it would be OK. It would be easier to find another recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
593 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
I made this twice, the first time I followed the recipe to a T, but I found it kinda of oily, and the texture a little off, so the second time I made it I substituted the 1 1/2 cups of oil for 1 cup of non-sweetened apple sauce and 1/2 cup oil. The texture was perfect and it was easier to cut too. Also I used some spenda with the sugar to cut some calories and used lowfat cream cheese for the icing. The second time around I'd give it 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine-CanadianCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrow, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
MMMMM MMMM Good!!!! One of the best carrot cakes I've ever had. The only changes I made were: reduce oil to use 1/2 cup, 2tsp cinnamon, pinch of Allspice... I used 3/4 cup whole wheat flour and 1 1/4 cup white flour.... I also took the advice of other reviewers and reduced the frosting: 1 cup confectioners sugar, 4 oz cream cheese, 1/8 cup butter, 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1/3 cup chopped pecans. I love cream cheese frosting but some recipes have too much for my taste.... Moist & Delicious!!! I love this cake!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
This cake was too moist, almost as if it was soaking wet. I think the pineapple ruined it, made it taste funky. Also, there is just WAY TOO MUCH oil. Carrot Cake III on this site is much better and it doesn't need to be TWEAKED like this recipe to recieve a 5 by so many people...Won't make again. Z-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
Oh my. This was great! My hubby advised me late last night he had to take something for a potluck today (dont you hate that) and since I've been eyeballing this recipe, my son and I went to the store and whipped it up! We saved enough batter to make 3 cupcakes so we could all taste it. It was SO fast to make with the food processer, and it was devine! I followed previous reviews and used 3/4 cup oil, used 1/4 cup cinnamon applesauce, upped the cinnamon to 3 tsp (we love spice) and added raisins. I decreased the sugar in the frosting to 2 3/4 cups. I put nuts IN the frosting and sprinkled a few more ON the cake (we're nut lovers too). The frosting was fantastic, after the cake was frosted, I had dibs on the bowl, beaters, knife, you name it, they were MINE! ;-) Great recipe, the pineapple was different, but DARN GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
Very good recipe w/ some of the modifications mentioned by others: increase carrots to 4 c., reduce oil to 3/4 c., add 1/4 c. cinnamon apple sauce, increase cinnamon to 2 tsp., drain some of the juice off pineapple, add 1/4 c. raisins, AND most importantly reduce the powdered sugar in the icing. I used 2 c. and my sister still thought it was borderline too sweet. I also recommend waiting to add the carrots until the same time you add the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
Just because it has a few carrots in it doesn't make it health food! I reduced the oil to under 1 cup and put less sugar in the frosting to reduce the calories with good results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
I decided on this cake for my friend's birthday. I baked it on a Friday for a Saterday party. I took the advice of people on the forum and made some changes. I used 1 cup sugar (rather than the 2 suggested) for the cake, as well as 2 tsp of cinnamon rather than the 1 suggested as I like a spicier cake. I used 1/3 cup vegetable oil and 2/3 cup applesauce. I didn't add any pecans. The cake turned out quite moist still, even with the reduced oil. I had a hard time getting it out of the pan, as parts of it stuck. After a bit of prodding it was out, but I was a bit worried as it seemed too moist. (I had baked most of the batter in a rectangular pan, and baked 1 small cupcake for tasting purposes.) But alas my fears were unfounded... Read below. I used the Neufchatel frosting suggested, but made one change- used 1 cup of sugar rather than 3 1/2 cups. Also- didn't mix the pecans in, but rather decorated the top of the cake with it. After leaving it in the fridge for 1 day, I was pleasantly surprised when it tasted much better than the day before. The gumminess that resulted from it being too moist the day before, was now a perfect level of moistness, and the frosting tasted delicious with the cake. You could actually see bits of carrot, and with the toasted pecans on top, it was visually gorgeous. Everyone loved it! I'd make this recipe again and again, but still use the modifications I've made above. I suggest baking the day before, and refigerating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stolispice

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2002
MOIST!!! Is definately one word for this cake! I made this yesterday for my husband and son's birthday. My husband said it was almost custard-like it was so moist, but still delicious. I did make some modifications though. 1 1/2 cups oil seemed like WAY too much (maybe a typo?) so I used 1 cup unsweetened applesauce in place of the oil. I also cut out 1/2 cup of sugar so that it wasn't overly sweet. I also used one heaping teaspoon of cinnamon, 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger to up the spices a bit to give it more flavor. Next time I think I'll cut the applesauce down to 1/2 a cup since I think a whole cup was too much. I also didn't make the frosting in the recipe, but just took 2 8oz pkgs cream cheese with about 2 cups powdered sugar, 1 tbs orange juice concentrate and 1 tsp almond extract. It was great! This is a good recipe to start out with and then make your own modifications as you go. Thanks! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2000
This was the first carrot cake I had ever made. My husband raved about it for days! Great recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 889) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States