Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I made this cake last night for my family. They did not like it. It was to oily, I would not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jackley7
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
The original recipe was very oily and runny, but still tasty. The first batch of cupcakes I put in the oven didn't turn out well. But I just added more flour to the batter, and they turned out AMAZING. I received so many compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
WOW! Delicious! I made this as cupcakes so the cook time went down to 25 minutes and I cut the confectioner's sugar in half for the frosting (you may have to mix extra depending on how much frosting you want to put on each one - it turns out more like decadent icing)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I followed this recipe and did not care for it. Maybe it is ok with alterations, but why would anyone rate it good when it isn't the same recipe because they've changed ingredients. There are far better carrot cake recipes than this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
This cake was nasty! I wish I would have read more of the reviews before I made it and I would have looked for another recipe. Way too much oil in cake and too much butter in frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
One of the best carrot cakes I've had! I substituted whole-grain white flour, walnuts instead of pecans, cut the sugar to 1 cup, used 3/4 cup oil and 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce for a healthier version and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
I have to agree with the previous comments. The cake is way too sweet and oily. Also so much salt is not necessary. You have to bake the cake def. more than 40 minutes! A oil base doug/pastry should be bake by 320 F for about 60-75minutes! But I like the idea with the pineapple. Very nice! Just take only 1 cup of suger, only 1 cup of oil, only a pinch of salt and the cake it perfect! I love to ad walnuts or replace it with pumpkin/almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I substitute 1 cup of unsweetened applesauce for 1 cup of the oil called for in the recipe. It gives the cake a lighter (yet still delicious) taste and cuts a lot of fat and calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Everyone loved this cake. It was a little greasy though...next time, I'll cut back in the amount of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XtinaU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
I did not change any of the ingredients and I followed the instructions to the 'T'. The cake was a little oily (left slick spots on my plate). My guests liked it, though. The frosting came out really thin. Not sure what happened there. It did taste good, but next time I'll reduce the oil by at least 1/2c.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 889) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States