Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
The reason so many are having cakes that are oily is that #1 you mast gradually add the sugar,beating until fluffy before adding more sugar. Continue adding small amounts at a time. # 2 Beat your eggs seperately till very light & gradually add to the sugar, oil mixture. You are not incorperating the sugar & oil & the oil separates & will be on the bottom etc. Try this, you will never have an oily carrot cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Not a bad recipe, but not AWESOME. Texture is "strange".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This cake definately lives up to it's name!!!! I was a little hesitant about how much oil to use, since i read a lot of reviews about it being greasy. I had no problem with it being greasy, however I did cream the oil, eggs, and sugar so I don't know if it made a difference. Other than that I followed it to a T. Everyone loooooved it!!!!!!!! Yummy, you wonn't be dissapointed if you make this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
A friend made this last week, and it was the best carrot cake iv'e ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I did not care for this. The cake takes forever to bake, and it comes out way too oily. And it tastes like oil. Usually you can't go wrong with a cake. I mean, even if it is bad...it is cake. Someone will eat it. Not this. We threw it away. And that is a lot of food to throw away. We never bothered making the frosting, but I'm thinking that you don't really need that much sugar or that much butter. This was truly a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
My family really enjoys this moist cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
I made this for my cousin, whose favorite cake in carrot. He is a gourmet cook & I was pleased when he said it was the best he had ever eaten. I discovered I was out of pecans so I used black walnuts & they were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I am not a huge carrot cake fan, but this is extremely delicious - as is, the only thing I changed was adding more nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
Gave this only 4 stars b/c I made a substitution. After reading lots of the reviews, I subbed out one cup of the oil with unsweetened applesauce. Now I didn't taste this myself b/c it was a Thank You gift for my husband's office but the comments I got back were amazing and included converting someone who doesn't even like carrot cake to someone who had 2 slices! It was moist and delcious! The pineapple is the key! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
I have made this cake so many times...and the frostings recipe multiple times on top of that! I always use applesauce to almost completely replace the oil. (1cp applesauce and 1/2 cp oil) It is so moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 890) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Carrot Cupcakes with White Chocolate Icing

Moist carrot cupcakes with a cream cheese and white chocolate frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States