Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I wish that there was a warning on this recipe:READ REVIEW FIRST!! Zaboo was right, why give five stars, if you have to completely change this recipe. I made this cake for a birthday, it looked terrible, and tasted like oil, needless to say I had to make another cake. It was very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Jacob

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I have made this several times and each time people are impressed, asking for the recipe. I think it has too much sugar though, it's just as good if made with 1-2 cups less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
way too oily. needs to bake longer. i added lemon and less sugar to the frosting to cut the sweetness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
I made this cake just as directed and my whole family loved it. I did not find it too oily at all (maybe because I used canola oil?). The only change was walnuts instead of pecans because that is what I had on hand. The frosting is to die for - not too sickingly sweet as some are - and I even used all of it on the 9 X 13 cake which I normally don't do. I did have to bake it about 10 min longer than the 40 mins but I thought it might have been my oven. Not sure why this got bad reviews about not being healthy. It's a cake not a vegetable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Wish I would have read the reviews before I made this... defintely has too much oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lonsdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This recipe was an absolute hit. I did substitute one cup of applesauce for one cup of oil. I also used a little less sugar in the frosting but this is by far one of the best carrot cakes I have ever had. May attempt to add a few raisins the next time out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimmie Kim Kim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
MUST ALTER!!! Far too much oil and powdered sugar in the icing. It is far too oily if made according to the directions. Substitute applesauce and mandrin oranges was the key for me. I loved it but only when I altered it sorry...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gnadenhutten, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
I think there's way too much oil. I was making it for a dinner party and could not bring this; had to go buy something last minute which was very frustrating. I followed this recipe very well. Do not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Excellent. The best carrot cake I have ever had. The frosting was excellent too. I plan on making this again! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 890) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States