Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
I made this cake for the first time last weekend. Boy was it a great hit with the whole family!! We've been craving a real carrot cake for ages, but every one I tried to make (or even the store bought ones) were really a "SPICE cake" with very little carrot in them. I'm so glad to have found this recipe. I didn't find it overly oily as some here complained about and I just used regular vegetable oil(Wesson). I did make a few alterations but nothing major. I used walnuts instead of pecans because that's what I had available. I also added a good handful of raisins. I did think that the recipe for the frosting was way too sweet so I made the frosting from one of the recipes on this web site. It's the one called Cream Cheese Frosting II and it came out very good and not nearly as sweet. My husband has already requested another one for tomorrow for dessert after our belated St. Patty's Day meal. We can't wait to have more of this wonderful cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethel, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Torrington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I have been making this recipe for a few years now, I actually just lost my paper copy so I came back to print a new one and thought I should comment. I sub 1c applesauce for 1c of the oil like many others do here but the rest I follow to a tee. Its a sinfully delicious birthday request in my family now. Mom can you PLEASE make that yummy carrot cake? Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This cake was GREAT! The only thing I did differently was use walnuts instead of pecans and I baked it for 60 minutes. It was moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wingnut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This carrot cake is excellent! So simple to make. The work is only in grating the carrots. I have made this a few times - all with excellent results. I did not find it oily at all - I too used canola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
A LITTLE TO MOIST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Yummy. I subbed half a bag of coconut for the pineapple. So good. Everybody always loves this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dagney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rory
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
i replaced sugar... used splenda instead same amount and added 1/3 cup of milk, didn't add pineapple or it's juice... it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rory

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I did something I never do - I made this cake based on the 4.5 stars rating without reading the reviews! The cake tasted oily and left a greasy feeling on my hands as I threw it in the garbage. (Could there be a typo in the oil measurement?) No one in the house would eat it. Won't make this again as there are far better carrot cake recipes on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
OMG!!! What a wonderful Carrot Cake. Baked two cakes in one week. My family all agreed, this cake is better than the Cheesecake Factory and have requested that they have this cake for each of their birthdays!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
Got rave reviews on this one. I did use my own cream cheese frosting recipe though. Can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 890) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States