Awesome Broccoli Marinara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
I did not have the specified canned tomatoes, so I used about 1/4 cup fresh basil and 2 tbsp basalmic vinegar. Instead of serving it as a side dish, I tossed it with pasta, pine nuts and fresh romano cheese. My children and I loved it, my hubby thought it was okay but needed meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
Very good.I also added some red onion and served with Feta on top.You can add crumbled Feta a couple of minutes before serving so that it melts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Ok... this is my new favorite sauce! I didn't have tomato sauce with the balsalmic vinegar and basil (didn't know they made such a thing) so I just added fresh basil and some balsalmic vinegar to the olive oil. I also added mushrooms to the mixture when I added the broccoli. I served this over cheese tortellini. It's just like a dish my husband orders at a nearby restaurant. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Not so awesome for us I'm afraid. I've never seen the type of canned tomatoes called for so I used red-ripe Roma tomatoes and fresh basil. Didn't use any balsamic vinegar as that didn't appeal to me because I wouldn't care for the tang. These are all good, fresh flavors, and I cooked it perfectly, cooking the tomato mixture first, then adding the broccoli for about five minutes, until tender and vivid green, but not overcooked. This was still just tomatoes and broccoli, and only average tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was a nice change for broccoli! We enjoyed the flavors of this marinara. Per other reviewers, I added 2T balsamic vinegar and fresh basil to a can of italian diced tomatoes (as that is what I had on hand). I used a little bit more garlic and it was perfect for us. Per another reviewer's suggestion, I served it over "Pasta Hot Hot Hot" from this site and it was a great meal. Thank you for a very good recipe alternative for broccoli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I couldn't find the tomatoes in the balsamic vinegar. I didn't really care for this recipe. It lacked flavor and I LOVE tomatoes and broccoli. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I guess this is supposed to be a side dish, but I added a can of tomato sauce, fresh basil, regular diced tomatoes, fresh mushrooms and garlic. Served over pasta, nice healthy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I love this! I've made it as written, and I've also added some cooked chicken to it (chopped) and mozarella cheese for an entire skillet meal. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cottonwood Heights, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
This was a great way to jazz up broccoli. I will cut down the oil next timeb/c mine was little oily, but still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2005
Good recipe. I added chicken breasts and served it over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Easy Broccoli Salad

Watch Chef John make an easy, healthy broccoli side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States