Awesome Broccoli Marinara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Ok... this is my new favorite sauce! I didn't have tomato sauce with the balsalmic vinegar and basil (didn't know they made such a thing) so I just added fresh basil and some balsalmic vinegar to the olive oil. I also added mushrooms to the mixture when I added the broccoli. I served this over cheese tortellini. It's just like a dish my husband orders at a nearby restaurant. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2007
I double the diced tomatoes and added parmesan on top for a real marianra flare. Very good side dish for any Italian entree. Contadina sells diced tomatoes with Italian herbs that works very well in this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lish

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New City, New York, USA
Living In: Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
What a nice change from boring old steamed broccoli! I could not find the same kind of tomatoes, but used a canned variety with basil, garlic and oregano. Very good. Everyone like it except my son, who hates everything to do with broccoli :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
My family really enjoyed this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Loved this recipe but am gonna add some red onion to it next time like some reviewers suggested. I served this over some angel hair pasta and it tasted wonderful together. I was gonna sprinkle some parmesan cheese over it but forgot, so next time I'll put some on. I must say that this dish felt rather healthy and light to eat and I enjoyed that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
easy to make, has a great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I added a little bacon with the garlic at the start. I used diced tomatoes with basil, garlic & oregano & added a splash (tbs) of balsamic vinegar. It smelled great at this point. I reduced the tomatoes and put the broccoili on top. I had to use a stock pot to hold the broccoli, I doubled the recipe to take to my sisters. By the time the broccoli on top starting turning bright green the bottom broccoli had turned brown (not burnt). When I got to my sisters, 30 minutes later, all of it was brown. So - I would definitely not recommend this for a traveling dish. If my husband hadn't turned his nose up at the tomato/broccoli combo I might make again, just not as a pot luck dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Castroville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This was a good side dish to accompany my macaroni pasta bake. I forgot to add the balsamic vinegar, but the recipe had a good flavor regardless. Added mozzarella cheese on top. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
Pretty good way to jazz up broccoli! I added my own spices and herbs to diced canned tomatos. I think melted mozzarella is a must when serving this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MedMimi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
I'm sorry but all I could taste was tomato in this recipe. I love broccoli, but I felt like I was eating just canned tomatoes. I guess it would be a good recipe for someone trying to hide the broccoli taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States