Awesome Broccoli Marinara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Really tasty. I couldn't find tomatoes with balsamic vinegar so I used regular tomatoes and added balsamic vinegar. The vinegar is what make this dish, IMHO.. takes it from good to delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This was fantastic and easy to make. Will be making this again and when having to take something for a potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Delicious! I made this twice and the first time I didn't have any canned tomatoes at all so I added tomato sauce and dried basil. It came out great if anyone wants to know in case you don't have the tomatoes. This time I did it with canned tomatoes but I never liked the balsamic so I did it with basil tomatoes and it had a great flavor. I would add more garlic, but that's just my taste. Will definately do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
This was a nice change for broccoli! We enjoyed the flavors of this marinara. Per other reviewers, I added 2T balsamic vinegar and fresh basil to a can of italian diced tomatoes (as that is what I had on hand). I used a little bit more garlic and it was perfect for us. Per another reviewer's suggestion, I served it over "Pasta Hot Hot Hot" from this site and it was a great meal. Thank you for a very good recipe alternative for broccoli!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
i was very disappointed with this. i had been looking forward to it for a week. it didnt have enough liquid. i had to make alot of adjustments which included adding a chopped fresh tomato for extra liquid. extra garlic, basil and balsamic vinegar. plus topped it with parm. cheese. i will try to make it again but next time i will use all fresh tomatoes instead of canned diced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This was such a surprise! When I first read the recipe I wasn't sure how broccoli and tomatoes could *wow* but this was a fantastic, healthy side dish. We'll have this many more times! Also, I didn't have the canned tomatoes recommended but I used a regular can of diced tomatoes, a hefty splash of balsamic and a good sprinkle of Italian seasoning. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mae Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Not so awesome for us I'm afraid. I've never seen the type of canned tomatoes called for so I used red-ripe Roma tomatoes and fresh basil. Didn't use any balsamic vinegar as that didn't appeal to me because I wouldn't care for the tang. These are all good, fresh flavors, and I cooked it perfectly, cooking the tomato mixture first, then adding the broccoli for about five minutes, until tender and vivid green, but not overcooked. This was still just tomatoes and broccoli, and only average tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
This was good. Not fabulous. But after all it's just broccoli. Be careful when you cook your broccoli. Don't over cook it or it'll wind up one big mush. I threw in my fresh broccoli at the very end and cooked it for less than 10 mins.. I didn't have the tomatoes with the vinegar in it so I used the diced petite tomatoes with roasted garlic. I made pasta hot hot hot (from this website) and my husband threw his broccoli marinara on top of that. He really enjoyed it. I think when you mix it with pasta it brings it to another level. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
- changes: - used diced seasoned organic tomatoes - cooked onions until they were almost caramelized - added garlic - added red bell peppers - added tomatos - added squash - when desired consistency was met, added broccoli - must cover in order to cook broccoli - made open face sandwiches with Albertson's baguette and mozzarella cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was awesome! Could not find the tomatoes with balsamic already in it, so I added about 1T or so. Made this with frozen broccoli florets, and it came out devine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gocoastl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Best Marinara Sauce Yet

Make this great marinara sauce for your favorite pasta dish.

Broccoli with Garlic Butter and Cashews

See how to make a simple broccoli side dish with garlic and cashews.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States