Awesome Broccoli-Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I've made this several times and we all love it. I make a few changes though. Instead of 1 cup mayonnaise, I add 1/2 cup mayo and 1/2 cup sour cream. I also bump up the cheese to 12 oz., instead of only 8 oz. I also add a butter cracker topping using crushed ritz or other butter crackers, about 20 of them, and 2 Tbsp of melted butter. We like a crunchy topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
495 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
I have been making this same recipe for years but I add a small bag of Pepperidge Farm seasoned bread stuffing to the top of the casserole before baking. Delicious! I always get requests for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2001
I made this at least 3 times over the holidays! Everyone raved over it! I added fresh mushrooms to mine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This was good, but not spectacular enough for a perfect rating. Good for a weekday side dish, but too bland to serve to company. I made this twice, the first time to a T to see if it needed modifying, and it did. Use just 1/2 the mayo and add 1/2 cup sour cream for more tang and the egg isn't necessary. With the egg, it came out a little curdled after baking and not visually appealing once you scoop into it. And needed a dash of salt and for more flavor. I will make it again since it's easy and comforting on a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
EXCELLENT! I really wanted to make this dish, however, I didn't have all of the correct ingredients in the house, so I improvised. I used a bag of mixed stir fry veggies, and parmesan cheese instead of the cheddar. For those reviewers who said this dish was bland, a little seasoning goes a long way. Black pepper, and garlic and onion powder add a nice flavor. I also cut back on the mayo and added a little squeeze of lemon juice. I topped the casserole with more parm and a bit of paprika. Thanks Stacy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
I have made this recipe so many times but I add cooked chicken and make it a casserole. Some people are intimidated by the mayo but you must include it! This can also be frozen and heated in the oven in no time. This is also great with extra cheese layered thru it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
There are several variations of this casserole, and they all really do go hand in hand. I like mine either with cauliflower thrown in their or with rice. Sharp cheddar really does come through in the casserole. We like to use cheese whiz in ours, but this is a nice change of pace too. You would think this would be a kid friendly dish...you know the cheese and all, but sometimes I think my 4 year old was born without taste buds. Oh well, gonna keep trying. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
This recipe was a huge sucess at my family dinner. Everyone had seconds. Because of the miserable broccoli in my grocery store I did substitute mixed frozen veggies. (Broc. Cauli. and Carrots.) Also because of my mushroom phobia I also substituted with Cheddar cheese soup. What a great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
I suggest that you add a can of mushrooms also I do not believe that salt and pepper does this recipe justice add a litte more spice. garlic salt, white pepper ect. Also i mixed up mild and sharp cheese for a little more flavor or just use med. over all it is an excellent recipe because it is a recipe you can be creative with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Tasted 5-star as written, but truly "awesome" the 2nd time with the following changes: Used 2 bunches fresh broccoli & 1 head fresh cauiflower, 1/2c. mayo & 1/2c. sour cream, sauteed the onion & 2 cloves minced garlic in 1 TBSP butter & used meduim cheddar (I liked the sharp cheddar but medium seemed to let the other flavors come through more) added no salt. I did add a few TBSP milk because I had more veggies. THEN the following morning I'd forgotten that I needed a dish for a breakfast potluck at work, so I made a mixture of 3/4c. biscuit mix, 1-1/2c. milk & 3 eggs, poured over the top of the leftover casserole & baked it 400 degrees for 35 minutes - rave reviews!!! So the recipe gets 5 stars for it's own goodness, taste & versatility!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States