Awesome Broccoli-Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
was perfect and delicious. I did sub 1/2 cup low fat sour cream, but I am sure that if I added more cheese and mayo it would have been even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I always feel guilty rating recipes when I change them. But I'm doing it anyway. This was SO good. Even better reheated in the microwave the next day. Here are my changes: instead of 1 cup of mayo, I used 1/2c each of mayo & sour cream. I used fresh broccoli instead of frozen. I steamed it in a pot with some fresh garlic. I used cheddar & monterey jack cheese. I didn't measure the cheese, but I know I used way more than 8oz of cheese. Maybe double that. I also crushed about 20 ritz crackers on top before baking. Very yummy. I made this earlier in the day & just kept it covered in foil in the fridge until I was ready to pop it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAL315

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was a tasty broccoli casserole. I used frozen baby broccoli florets rather than chopped and subbed out low fat sour cream for mayo. Used 2% cheddar cheese. I forgot the egg, and it was still fine. I did add some crushed reduced-fat CheezIts to the top for some crunch. It was definitely plenty salty even though I did not add any additional salt. I would suggest using reduced sodium soup unless you are a big salt fan. I used a can of regular cream of mushroom because it was purchased by mistake, and I think the flavor would have been better with less salt. Either way, still a good dish, and probably 5 stars with a few tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Wonderful side dish, made it for Christmas dinner. I used two bags of frozen (steamer bags) of broccoli florets, 1/2 mayo and half sour cream. I also crushed entire sleeve of Ritz crackers on the top and added a few pats of butter. Everyone gobbled it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Delicious recipe! Easy to make and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vixenvillain

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Wonderful! Needed a last minute casserole for family gathering. Everyone loved it. Ingredients in recipe generally on-hand so just threw it together in no time. The easiest thing is to just combine all ingredients in large bowl after mixing up the egg with soup & wet ingredients, then add the cheese, then broccoli. Mix well then turn mixture into prepared 9x13 baking pan. I used the 1/2 cup mayo and 1/2 cup sour cream, as well as topped the last 20 minutes with the 20 crushed Ritz with 2 Tbsp butter (suggested by another reviewer). Will definitely make again for easy potluck meals or holiday gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Just made this and it was fantastic!! I followed the common suggestion I kept reading by other reviewers to omit the egg and use 1/2 cup mayo with 1/2 sour cream. I used Amy's Organic semi-condensed cream of mushroom soup and mixed cheddar cheese with muenster and others I had on hand. I used frozen organic broccoli right from the bag and the end product was not remotely soggy or undercooked - the texture was perfect! I also cooked 3 skinless chicken breasts in chicken broth, cut them up and added to the mixture before pouring into the pan to make it a full meal. I didn't have Ritz crackers for a topping so I just sprinkled some Panko bread crumbs on top and baked it that way. I served it over some steamed brown rice and I was very happy at how delicious this came out! My husband hates broccoli but loved this. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
In the past I always made a broccoli casserole on Thanksgiving using puff pastry on top. I didn't have the puff pastry this time so decided on this recipe seeing the good reviews. Between this and the slow cooker mashed potatoes I made and this my contribution to the meal that my extended family shared, was no great success. This was not very flavorful. No one had more than a tiny polite portion of it. I won't try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I've made this twice now. Once for Thanksgiving (it was the ONLY dish to be emptied) and once on a weekday night. We all really love this recipe. As others have mentioned, I changed the recipe only slightly by omitting the egg and using 1/2 cup mayo, 1/2 cup sour cream. This will definitely become a staple side dish in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Auntie E

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Delicious. Not as cheesy as i thought it would be, but it was gOoooOoooD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Rodriguez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 391) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States