Awesome Broccoli-Cheese Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
EXCELLENT I made a small version. I used 10 0z broccoli, handful of baby carrots sliced, 2 T mayo,1/3 can cream of chicken soup, 1-2 T diced onion, 1/4 c egg beaters, 2-3 oz shredded cheddar. Cook veggies tender crisp. (onion 1 min in microwave) Mix egg, mayo and soup and stir into cooled cooked veggies. Bake veggie - soup mixture at 350 until warm, cover with shredded cheese and broil top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Excellent recipe... I made a few changes, like other reviewers suggested. Used a can of Cream of Chicken soup, 1/2 cup sour cream, 1/2 cup mayonnaise, and 4 crowns of fresh broccoli. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Loved it! Reminds me of the southern potluck broccoli casserole I grew up appreciating as a child; the one I scoped out the buffet table for with eyes of a true culinary detective at all our family reunions. As a child, to me the day was worthwhile if this broccoli casserole showed up...if not, I reluctantly settled for the lesser version made with Velvetta (yuck!). I think I would have been happier to have this casserole than Christmas presents from Grandma! So glad I have this recipe of my own now to make whenever I want, no detective work required, and no Velvetta. Thanks, Stacy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Dee's Yummies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Tasted 5-star as written, but truly "awesome" the 2nd time with the following changes: Used 2 bunches fresh broccoli & 1 head fresh cauiflower, 1/2c. mayo & 1/2c. sour cream, sauteed the onion & 2 cloves minced garlic in 1 TBSP butter & used meduim cheddar (I liked the sharp cheddar but medium seemed to let the other flavors come through more) added no salt. I did add a few TBSP milk because I had more veggies. THEN the following morning I'd forgotten that I needed a dish for a breakfast potluck at work, so I made a mixture of 3/4c. biscuit mix, 1-1/2c. milk & 3 eggs, poured over the top of the leftover casserole & baked it 400 degrees for 35 minutes - rave reviews!!! So the recipe gets 5 stars for it's own goodness, taste & versatility!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BudsGurls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I did use an entire 12 ounce bag of cheese and crushed up 1/2 sleeve of ritz crackers on top. But other than those minor changes I kept the recipe completely as is and I'm sure I would still give it 5 stars regardless we just like the extra cheese & cracker topping. This is an absolute keeper- there was not one bite leftover- infact people were arguing over the last serving. We will make this our "staple" broccoli & cheese casserole from now on and will make it again and again! Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Overall wonderful taste! My kids and grandkids loved it. But, I put it in too large a dish, so it was not like a casserole. I will use a smaller dish next time. Easy to do, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Redbird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Meh. This was allright. I didn't dislike this, but I am not jumping out of my seat to make it again. I like my Grandma's recipe much better. Hers is quite different tho.... For one, my grandma's recipe produces squares (which obviously have a different consistency than this does). Her recipe calls for flour, baking powder and more eggs (again, for a solid, slice-like consistency). On the other hand, this was INSANELY easy to prepare. I decided on a whim that I needed another dish to serve with Easter dinner. Not wanting anything too elaborate / time intensive, this fit the bill perfectly! I used light mayo and sharp cheddar cheese with excellent results. All in all, this is a good dish (there's nothing "wrong" with it), but it's not one of my "favorites." If you can get your kiddos to eat their greens as Stacy claims, this is definitely worth trying if for nothing other than that. Thanks for sharing anyways, Stacy! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I also used 1/2 mayo - 1/2 sour cream cause we like sour cream, and I added seasoned bread crumbs on top. The cheese was awesome it, it dripped these yummy melty strings from every forkful. My bf wouldn't stop wolfing this down :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeatherShade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
This was a really good recipe. I took the advice from some of the other reviews & it came out fabulous. I added 1/2 sour cream & 1/2 mayo, shredded parmesan cheese, minced garlic, onion powder and then added bread crumbs to the top with cheese sprinkled over it. My husband was a little bit skeptical but once he tried it, he fell in love with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loliekay
Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Yum, yum, yum...delicious. Not the healthiest thing, but a great way to dress up frozen broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States