Awesome Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
After reading most of the other reviews I tried this dish but followed the recommendations to use only half of the sour cream and mix more of the cheese with the broccoli and keep only 1 cup for the top. This casserole turned out very good, and any precooking of the broccoli wasn't necessary (but my broccoli was already half thawed). The only critic is the presentation - the chopped broccoli just doesn't look very appealing in this casserole. I will try it with whole broccoli flowers next time - in this case I probably will precook the broccoli, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caljane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Living In: Devils Tower, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
This is great - i served this over rice, and added carrots. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
I've made this recipe twice now and the 2nd time I made it my husband really loved it. I made some changes to it - used only 1 bag of broccoli, 1/2 of the suggested sour cream and only 1/2 of an onion (whole one is waaaay too much). I also diced and browned up some chicken and mixed it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
I was intrigued by the combination of corn and broccoli, but this recipe just was too rich and too bland for us. WAY too much sour cream -- that's all you could taste. I'd agree with the earlier reviewers who suggested cutting the sour cream in half, using using more of the cheese in the sauce, and finding an alternative to the stuffing as a topping, as there was too much of it and it just sat there. It also needed a LOT longer than cooking than is specified.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This was great, but I will have to make one change. I did not like the stuffing topping with the cheese. Next time I will make the stuffing according to the package directions and either put that on top or mix it in with the broccoli mixture. This is deffinately a keeper! Thanks for the receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
This is going to be one those annoying reviews that rates five stars and then changes the whole thing. I was actually looking for a base to use up leftovers before a vacation and so added the cream of broccoli and cheese but then put in leftover potato wedges and leftover chicken. Didn't have broccoli or corn and so added frozen peas and shallots instead of onion. Did everything by sight. Had about a teaspoon of sour cream and chicken stuffing. Mixed it all together and threw it all into the oven for about 15 minutes. Turned out much better than expected and my kids went back for seconds. Next time will try it the right way but in the meantime it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
A wonderful blend of ingredients. I made it for Thanksgiving dinner and everyone liked it so much they all asked me for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I made this for a large group of people and somewhat modified it to dietary needs/preferences. I used Cream of Celery instead of Mushroom and instead of putting stuffing on top, I put a ton of cheese and onion rings to bake on top. It was all the rave!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2006
My hubby loves this recipe. I put chicken in mine to make a meal of it. The corn is a plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NSUNRISE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This recipe is excellent!!! I changed the recipe a little bit to personalize it for my family but It was good the way it was. I steamed fresh broccoli instead of the frozen and I used quite a bit more than the recipe called for. I used all of the sour cream and it was great, a strong flavor but great! I did not use the corn and I only used half of the onion. I mixed about 6 ounces of Pepperidge Farm herb stuffing mix and 2 cups of sharp shredded cheese into the mixture. Before baking, I sprinkled the top with about 1 cup of the cheddar cheese and just enough stuffing (mixed with butter) to barely cover the top. This recipe came out so good, thank you so much for sharing it. I will make it over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States