Awesome Broccoli Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
I modified this recipe just a little. I didn't have suffing on hand, and put parmeson on top and covered with foil so it would not burn to quickly. It was awesome. My husband demanded I make it again the next night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
this broccoli casserole is pretty good but i wasn't awed by it. The only changes i made was to halve the amount of sour cream & stir the cheese into the broccoli mix before baking. thanks cobra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Awesome is an under statement. I found this receipe 3 years ago and still to this day I'm making this casserole. My family loves it and everytime we have a dinner together they ask me to make it. Thanks you for such an AWESOME receipe. Thank grandma too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
This is a great recipe if you follow the other reviewer's advice: halve the onion and sour cream, put all the cheese into the broccoli mixture, make sure the broccoli is fully defrosted, and bake covered for at least one hour until the whole casserole is bubbly, removing cover for last ten minutes. Depending on what I have in my pantry, I improvise the topping. I like half Ritz crackers and half bread crumbs. I also agree with other reviewer's recommendation to bake this a day ahead. I give it four stars because of the tweaking required.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Not a bad dish, but I would definitely follow the other posters' advice and pre-cook the broccoli. I didn't care for it being crunchy. Next time I will probably also mix more of the stuffing in the actual broccoli mix and put less of it on top. It was just too crumby that way. Oh, and definitely more cheese in the broccoli mixture. But worth a second try for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
Because of some bad reviews, I was hesitant to try this recipe. But it was awesome! I modified it according to what I already had in the pantry. I used cream of mushroom soup, and omitted the onions and corn. I would make sure the broccoli you use is fully defrosted. I also added more cheese to the mixture and would reccomend not adding more to the top once its cooked b/c it does form a barrier and all comes off at once when you serve. This was a very very good recipe and I was able to use all lowfat ingredients. Hey- if thats how I can get my husband to eat vegetables, then thats what I'll do. 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
I'm sorry, this recipe was awful. We had guests over, and nobody at the table enjoyed this recipe. There is way too much stuffing for the volume of the casserole, the tiny amount of cheese in the mixture adds nothing, and the large amount of cheese on top forms an impenetrable barrier as soon as it cools. The dish tastes like nothing more than frozen broccoli with sour cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
Very good recipe--I was trying to make a dish I had at my sister-in-laws and this was the closest recipe I could find. I nuked 1 bag of frozen broc & 1 bag of frozen corn to make sure it was completely thawed. I used cream of celery soup and instead of the stuffing mix, I mixed in crushed up Chicken-in-a-Biscut crackers (some on top too) Yummmy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARISUENICHOLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
This was SO easy to make, yet tasted like I'd slaved over it for hours. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
This was great! Next time I would either cook longer, precook the broccoli, or both. My broccoli was crunchy. Also, if you love cheese, add more to the casserole itself instead of melting on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Cauliflower Casserole

A creamy, cheesy rice and veggie dish topped with crushed buttery crackers.

Broccoli Rice Casserole

See how to make a creamy, cheesy classic.

Broccoli Casserole

This easy casserole may become a staple at your holiday table.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States