Awesome Bow Tie Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
I really enjoy making and eating this pasta salad. I do have some alterations I reccomend though. I always add some coarse ground garlic salt, ground black pepper and basil. Now that it's summer, I've been adding a bit of fresh basil, but usually I use dried. Both are good. I use halved grape tomatoes instead of diced big tomatoes. I also grill a couple of chicken breasts, marinated in italian dressing, and cube them into the salad. I like to toast some pine nuts and toss them in just before serving too. I always make this dish the night before I plan to serve it. It makes a HUGE difference. If it comes out a bit too dry for you, just increase the vinegar and oil. I add a couple Tablespoons of water to my balsamic vinegar, because it's slightly strong for me, but my mother loves it before I add the water. Great recipe for picnics and luncheons! It looks pretty served over a bed of baby spinach and a few fresh basil leaves on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
My roommate and I LOVED this pasta salad. I made a few changes to the recipe. As suggested by other reviewers I used a 16 oz. can of diced tomatoes instead of fresh and I added two tablespoons of dried oregano plus two tablespoons of dried basil. I used basil and tomato feta cheese. It turned out amazing! Don't forget to add a touch of salt. If you enjoy Feta cheese and Balsamic Vinegar then you will love this tricky concoction. Very unique recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
I usually love cold pasta salads, but I just can't give this recipe a good review. I don't see what all the hype is about. WAY too much vinegar!! I made this for 3 other family members and none of us liked it. The whole batch went straight into the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2001
Feta cheese lovers will enjoy this recipe. In- stead of using balsamic and oil, try substituting "Yasou" which is a store bought non-creamy greek dressing. Halved cherry tomatoes work beautifully as well. Very quick and delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
Made the salad with multi color spiral pasta and 1/2 the amount of balsamic vinegar, used more green onions. Didn't change anything else. Very good tasting recipe, will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I thought this was delicious. As suggested by others, I used white balsamic vinegar to avoid turning the pasta brown. I used grape/cherry tomatoes sliced in half and mediterranean flavored feta cheese. I made it to serve tomorrow so mixed up extra dressing in case it needs it. It was delicious today, so can't imagine that it will be even better tomorrow. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
Ehh...it was okay. It tasted kind of bland...kind of like just the viniger and fetta. Everything else didn't have much taste. Oh well. I was looking forward to that. I am now editing my review. The above is what I wrote directly after making the dish, and I had given it 3 stars. I am now giving it five stars, because after it is in the refrigerator for the night it was amazing amazing amazing. Thank you so much for this wonderful recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smileyface

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
way too much vinegar! I had to throw away the whole batch! If you used maybe 1/3 as much as the recipe calls for , it might be tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2003
I think this recipe is great. I read all the reviews beforehand so I tried some of the hints. I used 1/4 cup of vinegar, chopped up some red, yellow and green peppers. I also added some diced cucumber. Absolutely fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
I couldn't get enough of this pasta salad. I also tried substituting tortellini for the bow tie pasta. Everybody raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Bow Tie Pasta

See how to make chicken with vegetables in a creamy cheese sauce.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Pasta and Garlic

Watch how to make this deliciously simple dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States