Awesome Baked Sea Scallops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Scallops are one of my favorite treats in restaurants, and I enjoyed trying this recipe. I will make again, with a couple of tweaks. The flavor was good, but I think I'm missing the zing of white wine in the sauce. I am not a big wine drinker or cook with it that often, but following the seasonings as directed I thought it was pleasant but unremarkable. 16 was slightly over a pound for me, and I thought there was wayyy too much butter for that amount. I tossed the butter with the scallops then actually drained some off and used that ~2.5 tbsp with ~1.5 tbsp oil for the crumb topping. And there was a lot of topping, I didn't use quite the whole amount but had a thick blanket, but as mentioned it does mix with the sauce and get crispy and good. For our tastes, I would have preferred a moist juicy layer of scallops topped with a few dollops of buttery breadcrumbs. I will use this recipe as a solid base in the future for my dream scallop dish, but as written it's very yummy too. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Love it! Absolutely Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Awesome! Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gregory's Mom
Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Excellent recipe -thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This was good as written but I think it could be much better. After tasting these I added freshly grated parmesan cheese which drastically improved the flavor but it would have been better baked in with the breadcrumb mixture. I also think adding some seasoning like Old Bay or something similar to the butter and garlic mixture would be excellent. The cooking time was perfect so the texture of the scallops was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
WAY too much bread crumbs, and was a little too salty for me. Also, too much butter. I may try it again, but I will cut down on everything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Wow, these are truly awesome. I just made them and am in love. I had no shallots, so just sauted some vidalia onion in a little of the butter, then followed the directions. Dee-licious! I served them with some orzo mixed with baby peas, orange oil and seasonings. The orange oil brought out a little citrus-y flavor. I put the scallops right on top and the breadcrumb topping mixed in with the orzo. Yummy! Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. It is simple and quick and impresses every time. I will often use crushed butter crackers mixed in with the bread crumbs and I also replace the nutmeg with Old Bay- just a personal preference. This is one of those dishes that makes you look like an amazing cook - and all you have to do is follow the directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I lightly sauteed the shallots and garlic before mixing everything together, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. This was excellent served over whole wheat pasta. I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
I was really excited about this recipe but was really disappointed in the end. I thought the bread crumbs over powered the flavor of the scallops and it was way too much bread crumbs for what the recipe called for. I might try it again and tweak a few things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Scallops

These baked scallops are so buttery and so garlicky. Yum!

Hudson’s Baked Tilapia with Dill Sauce

See how to make simple baked tilapia with a creamy dill sauce.

Seared Scallops with Jalapeno Vinaigrette

See how to make quick-and-easy seared scallops in a mild jalapeño vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States