Awesome Apple Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
This is the first time I've rated a recipe on this site and I'm disappointed to say that I have to give this one the very big thumbs down. The muffins didn't rise, the taste was almost non-existant and they just wouldn't cook. I ended up coating them with honey, sprinkling them with a load of sugar and rebaking them just to get some sort of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
A little bland, but otherwise not bad. I subbed sour cream for the yogurt as I didn't have any, and used egg whites for the whole egg. I got 16 normal sized muffins out of this recipe and I'd probably make them again if I upped the spices heavily. A really good 'no sugar added' muffin, to be fair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
To be fair, I deviated from this quite a bit, but overall it was great inspiration and a good guide for me. I wanted a sweet option to use up some steel-cut oats; omitted rice flour, flax seeds, arrowroot powder, butter, and cranberry juice. Used unsweetened applesauce, about 1 c unbleached wheat flour and 1/2 c bread flour, added 1/2 tsp. of ground cloves, and about 1 c. of shredded carrots and 1/4 c. orange-mango 100% juice blend. Before baking, I topped them with a third/third/third mix of brown sugar/crushed almonds/cinnamon (total of about 1/8 c. topping). These were VERY moist, and delicious when I drizzled the tops with some cream cheese icing. Very easy recipe to modify, probably nice as written, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juststardust
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
My husband who is a diabetic loved these! I added pecans. I also added just a small amount of turbinado sugar because I was using tart apples. I used cooked steel cuts (can't imagine cooking with them raw). I only had 3/4 c white rice flour so I added 1/4 c WW. My homemade pumpkin pie spice (lots of it) and Diet Ginger Ale in place of the Cranberry Juice. Didn't have any arrowroot. Thanks for the recipe, I had no idea what to use the white rice flour in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
i don't think its fair for anyone who can eat wheat to rate this recipe. you will never get the same fluffy yummy consistency without wheat flour. I have a daughter who is severely allergic, and this is the first baked item she has loved with rice flour as a base. I say thats fantastic! I altered it by subbing 1/4 c. applesauce for the egg, also necessarily doubling the leavening baking soda ( i added a tsp of homemade baking powder (1/2 and 1/2 cream of tarter and baking soda), and instead of juice I added 1/4 c. brown sugar and 1/3 c. water (more water is needed without the egg). They turned out the best i have ever made with rice flour of anything. yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Thank you for a great healthier version muffin. Other health aware cooks out there need to rate this recipe for it has been unfairly rated by people comparing it to unhealthy muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
My family is gluten free, and my kids have never eaten tons of sugar anyway. We LOVE this recipe! Of course, they are not like traditional muffins with wheat flour and they're not loaded up with sugar. That's exactly why we like them. I've made it with berries, apples, apricots, and bananas! I actually bake the entire dough in an oven dish and spoon it out. It's easier to eat when it's not baked in paper muffin cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
They were ok, needed more spices. Husband and kids wouldn't touch 'em until I put honey on top and sprinkled sugar and cinnamon on top and re-baked for a few minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
too moist with too little body/structure to it. the flavor wasn't terrible (apples=NOM), but they barely rised and were not dense enough to support all the appley goodness. i'll try again, but probably use less apple (or sauce one of them?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by etroskipay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
A small hint of flavor, but overall pretty bland. My kids would not touch them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States